Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

2410 4-wire measurements

Models 2400, 2401, 2410, 2420, 2425, 2430, 2440, 6430
Post Reply
k1a2t3e4
Posts: 2
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 12:44 am
Country: Russian Federation

2410 4-wire measurements

Post by k1a2t3e4 » March 6th, 2015, 1:26 am

Hi,
I am a novice at measurements with 2410, so I need some help.
Here is my simple 4-wire sense scheme with one resistor and one light-emitted diode.
Vsense_problem.png
Vsense_problem.png (5.24 KiB) Viewed 16758 times

When I set Vforce to 2V, the Vsense is exact 2V (measure it with external multimeter, Vforce is about 5.7V). But when I set Vforce to 2.5V, Vsense is only 2.17V (Vforce is around 9.7V).
Further with Vforce 3V, Vsense is also equal to 2.17V.
Why I cannot change Vsense? Is it a property of 2410 Sourcemeter?

Please clarify all this case.

Thanks in advance!

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2849
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: 2410 4-wire measurements

Post by Dale C » March 6th, 2015, 10:18 am

What current compliance and current measurement range is the Model 2410 set to.
Maybe it is in compliance?
Real compliance is shown by CMPL blinking on the display.
If so, increase the current compliance level.
Range compliance is shown by the mV or V blinking on the display.
If so, increased the current measurement range.

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1601
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: 2410 4-wire measurements

Post by Andrea C » March 6th, 2015, 1:48 pm

Why do you have 590Ω in the path between force and sense?

The resistor is causing an I*R voltage difference between the force terminal and the sense terminal.
The 2400 family of products can tolerate no more than 5 volts of difference between force and sense.

Force and sense are not completely independent of each other. The measured value by sense is used as feedback to the forcing function.

k1a2t3e4
Posts: 2
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 12:44 am
Country: Russian Federation

Re: 2410 4-wire measurements

Post by k1a2t3e4 » March 9th, 2015, 11:27 pm

Thanks for all answers!
I've already solved this problem.
Such value of sence voltage was caused by the properties of all scheme. I've managed to change resistor and the force and sense voltages became the same.

[email protected]
Posts: 1
Joined: May 26th, 2021, 6:47 am
Country: Thailand

Re: 2410 4-wire measurements

Post by [email protected] » May 26th, 2021, 6:50 am

Hi,
In this case( diode testing), Do we need to set it to sense mode for this 4 wire measurement? or just add sense wiring to DUT?
Thank you.

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1601
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: 2410 4-wire measurements

Post by Andrea C » May 26th, 2021, 10:56 am

The 2410 SourceMeter (and most Keithley SMU) require you to both connect the sense lines AND send a command to enable their use.

NOTE: sending the command to enable them will result in a 4W annunciator on front panel to light up.

NOTE2: sending the command to enable them, but not connecting them can result in very large voltages the HI and LO; the enabled remote sense lines are the voltage feedback to the SMU on successful sourcing of V level or successful enforcement of voltage compliance limit if forcing current. Bottom line: if enabling their use, make sure they are connected.

Command: ":SYST:RSEN ON" or ":SYST:RSEN OFF"

Post Reply

Return to “2400 Series SourceMeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest