Page 1 of 1

2400 range problem

Posted: October 16th, 2012, 4:33 am
by azevedo
I have a 2400 model. I know that it can read up to 1.05A (maximum compliance). But is it possible to read over 100mA when applying more than 160V? If so, how? If not, is there a source meter that can?
Thank you.

Re: 2400 range problem

Posted: October 16th, 2012, 6:12 am
by Mark W
To excede the DC source measure parameters would require pulsing or combining multiple SMU's. The 2400 SMU does not have pulsing capabilities. So your only options are to combine SMU channels or to use a diferent SMU(2430). I have attached a pdf that explains this in detail.
HighCurrAppNote[1].pdf
(1.57 MiB) Downloaded 1429 times
Mark

Re: 2400 range problem

Posted: October 16th, 2012, 6:45 am
by azevedo
Thank you for the quick reply.
Best regards.

Re: 2400 range problem

Posted: October 24th, 2012, 12:55 pm
by damdam66
I had a similar problem recently when operating in manual mode. Since there is no auto ranging...

you need to select which range you'll be expecting to measure.

It looks like your manually set "I-measure" range has been left at an unneccesarily low setting and is maxing out there.

Try pressing on the MEAS 'I' button on front panel... then press 'Range' up arrow and see the range increase with each press.

stop at max allowable range of 1 A.