Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

Charge Extraction

Models 2400, 2401, 2410, 2420, 2425, 2430, 2440, 6430
ChrisDoohan

Charge Extraction

Post by ChrisDoohan » August 12th, 2011, 3:00 pm

Hi, I'm new to a lab that uses the Keithley 2400, and I'm trying to write a series of triggers to perform a charge extraction experiment, a little like the Haynes-Shockley experiment. I'd like to source a small voltage, around 1.5V, hold it steady for several seconds, and then drop the voltage to zero and watch how the current tails off versus time. I'd like to do so with something on the order of 1ms resolution. I'm not sure whether to use the sweep function or just set the voltage level, and whether to use the trigger or source delay. Tentatively, I thought the following code may be a good start:
*RST
:SOUR:VOLT:MODE FIX
:SOUR:VOLT:RANG 1
:SENS:CURR:RANG:AUTO ON
:SENS:CURR:PROT 20E-3
:SENS:CURR:NPLC .06
:SENS:FUNC "CURR"
:FORM:ELEM CURR
:SOUR:VOLT:LEV 1.5

then some delay would be added in here

:SOUR:VOLT:LEV 0
:OUTP ON
:READ?
:OUTP OFF

This I just cobbled together from example code in the user manual. I'd also like to know what the difference is between the triggers ":SOUR:VOLT 10" and ":SOUR:VOLT:LEV 10." Both are used in the example code, and I don't see any clear difference between them off hand.
I'd appreciate any help.
- Chris

Nathan S
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications

Re: Charge Extraction

Post by Nathan S » August 15th, 2011, 6:07 am

Chris,

Starting at the end first, there is no difference between :SOUR:VOLT 10 and :SOUR:VOLT:LEV 10. If you have the 2400 User's Manual Rev. J from August 2007, page 18-18 or p. 334/518 of the PDF shows the :LEVel in brackets which means it is option to use that part of the command.