Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

TSP Link initialization failed

Models 2601, 2602, 2611, 2612, 2635, 2636
Models 2601A, 2602A, 2611A, 2612A, 2635A, 2636A
Models 2601B, 2602B, 2604B, 2611B, 2612B, 2614B, 2634B, 2635B, 2636B
Post Reply
Thomas SP
Posts: 1
Joined: May 27th, 2016, 2:38 am
Country: France

TSP Link initialization failed

Post by Thomas SP » May 27th, 2016, 3:05 am

Dear all,

I would like to set up a TSP Link between 2 SMUs but when I try to reset the TSP Link from the front panel I have the error code 1202 "TSP-Link initialization failed" showing up on the display of both instruments.

Here is my configuration:
node 1 : K2611A with firmware version 2.2.6 acting as master
node 2 : K2601 with firmware version 1.4.2 acting as slave
Connection is made of a cat 5e crossover cable between the right plug of the master and the left plug of the slave.

Is it theoretically possible to connect an A SMU to a non-A SMU with TSP Link?
What may be the cause of error 1202?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Best regards,
Thomas

brian.d.smith
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 402
Joined: June 10th, 2013, 6:00 am
Country: United States

Re: TSP Link initialization failed

Post by brian.d.smith » May 30th, 2016, 6:38 am

Here is a link to a table of features.

http://www.tek.com/sites/tek.com/files/ ... ingApp.pdf

Non-A 2600 does not have LXI triggering.
You have to use I/O port synchronization for the non-A 2600.

bbford352
Posts: 1
Joined: February 24th, 2017, 8:25 am
Country: United States

Re: TSP Link initialization failed

Post by bbford352 » June 12th, 2017, 11:43 am

Hi Thomas
I got a 1202 between a 2602 and a 2602B when they both had the same TSP Node selected for both. in my case both were set for 2 when i hit reset both units came up with a 1202. hope this helps

a.data
Posts: 4
Joined: June 10th, 2021, 1:07 am
Country: Poland

Re: TSP Link initialization failed

Post by a.data » June 10th, 2021, 1:22 am

I have the same error 1202 between 2651A and 2602A.
Both of A.
my english is not very good and I did not delve into the above suggestions.
That's why I'll just ask.
Is it possible to bypass this error on these devices?

Best regards,
Alex

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1563
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: TSP Link initialization failed

Post by Andrea C » June 10th, 2021, 4:21 am

Each product that has TSP-LINK capability is shipped with a CAT5 crossover cable for use in the TSP-LINK connectors.
Make sure it is a crossover cable for the tsplink.
In the front panel menus of each instrument, assign a unique node number to each instrument.
If using a PC also, connect the PC communication bus to node 1 instrument communication bus (USB, GPIB, LAN, RS-232).
basic_tsplink_network.PNG
TSP-LINK uses crossover cable
basic_tsplink_network.PNG (50.9 KiB) Viewed 47 times

a.data
Posts: 4
Joined: June 10th, 2021, 1:07 am
Country: Poland

Re: TSP Link initialization failed

Post by a.data » June 10th, 2021, 4:40 am

Is TSP-Link cabel the same as LAN CAT5 crossover cable, connecting two PC without a switch.
Image

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1563
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: TSP Link initialization failed

Post by Andrea C » June 10th, 2021, 5:45 am

Yes, it is a LAN CAT5 crossover cable for TSP-LINK connections.

a.data
Posts: 4
Joined: June 10th, 2021, 1:07 am
Country: Poland

Re: TSP Link initialization failed

Post by a.data » June 10th, 2021, 6:19 am

I have
master: 2651A, node = 01, firmware 1.2.0
slave: 2602A, node = 02, firmware 2.2.6

the error appears when pressing the menu TSPLINK => RESET
https://photos.app.goo.gl/rr3sAd5W2uWmSsi17

and during execution
node[2].smua.reset()

Where is the problem?
Last edited by a.data on June 10th, 2021, 6:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

a.data
Posts: 4
Joined: June 10th, 2021, 1:07 am
Country: Poland

Re: TSP Link initialization failed

Post by a.data » June 11th, 2021, 1:29 am

There was a bad cable,
it should be like this

Image

And it works

Post Reply

Return to “2600 Series SourceMeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests