Kickstart connection with 2602A

Models 2601, 2602, 2611, 2612, 2635, 2636
Models 2601A, 2602A, 2611A, 2612A, 2635A, 2636A
Models 2601B, 2602B, 2604B, 2611B, 2612B, 2614B, 2634B, 2635B, 2636B
Post Reply
michel123
Posts: 9
Joined: October 13th, 2017, 12:57 pm
Country: Netherlands

Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by michel123 » October 13th, 2017, 11:00 pm

When you download Kickstart you first see this:
This software applies to: 2280S-32-6, 2280S-60-3, 2281S-20-6, 2400, 2400-C, 2401., 2410-C, 2410., 2420-C, 2425, 2425-C, 2430-C, 2430., 2440-C, 2440., 2450, 2450-NFP, 2450-NFP-RACK, 2450-RACK, 2460, 2460-NFP, 2460-NFP-RACK, 2460-RACK, 2461, 2461-NFP, 2461-NFP-RACK, 2461-RACK, 2601A, 2601B, 2602A, 2602B, 2604B, 2611A, 2611B, 2612A, 2612B, 2614B, 2634B, 2635A, 2635B, 2636A, 2636B, 2700, 2701, 2750, 6430, 6517B, DMM7510, DMM7510-NFP, DMM7510-NFP-RACK, DMM7510-RACK

The Kickstart release notes shows on page 7:
Supported models
This Software is intended for use on the following Keithley Instruments product models:

and then a list of models follows. One of them:

Test Type: IV Characterizer
Models Supported : 2602A & B
Min Firmware Version : A Models: 2.2.6
Command Set (TSP, SCPI, 488.1) : TSP Only
Communication Bus : USB LAN GPIB

Page 10:
Version 1.9.5 adds support for all 2400 models, 6430, all 2600A models and all 2600B models – Apr 2017

I've tried to connect to Kickstart but it won't recognize the SMU.
I tried LAN, GPIB-USB, GPIB-Ethernet, without result.

Can you please advice me how to connect to the Kickstart?

Best regards,
Michel

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 367
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by Stuart M » October 16th, 2017, 8:26 am

I would uninstall KickStart 1.9.5 and install KickStart 1.9.7.
https://www.tek.com/software/kickstart/1-9-7

KickStart 1.9.7 installs (if needed) NI-VISA 5.3, runtime .NET 4.6.1, and Microsoft Visual Studio 2015 runtime.
After installing KickStart 1.9.7 and rebooting, connect your 2602A using usb to your pc (if this works then we can troubleshoot other pathways if those don't work...)
Then open KickStart and allow it to startup. Then click on the left side of the screen to select the Instrument Configuration view.
See if the Model 2602A is shown. If it is not shown, then look on your pc in the following directory:
Documents\Keithley Instruments\KickStart\Log\
Find the latest .txt file and attach it here...(if .txt file is not accepted as a valid attachment, then zip and attach as .zip file)
Also, let us know what version of windows you have on your pc and if you have any other versions of VISA installed.

Jennifer C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 28
Joined: September 17th, 2010, 7:55 am
Country: United States

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by Jennifer C » October 16th, 2017, 9:03 am

Hi Michel,

You'll have to use LAN or GPIB as the 2602A does not have a USB communication port.

If you use LAN, there may be a slight delay in KickStart discovering the instrument. You may need to press the "Refresh Instrument Discovery" button in the top menu bar more than once. Make sure that you can "ping" the instrument's IP address before attempting to connect via KickStart. If you can "ping" the instrument and KickStart is correctly installed, then KickStart should be able to discover the instrument.

Using a USB to GPIB converter should be very straightforward. Which converter / adapter are you using?

Jennifer

michel123
Posts: 9
Joined: October 13th, 2017, 12:57 pm
Country: Netherlands

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by michel123 » October 17th, 2017, 2:17 pm

Stuart M wrote:
October 16th, 2017, 8:26 am
I would uninstall KickStart 1.9.5 and install KickStart 1.9.7.
https://www.tek.com/software/kickstart/1-9-7

KickStart 1.9.7 installs (if needed) NI-VISA 5.3, runtime .NET 4.6.1, and Microsoft Visual Studio 2015 runtime.
After installing KickStart 1.9.7 and rebooting, connect your 2602A using usb to your pc (if this works then we can troubleshoot other pathways if those don't work...)
Then open KickStart and allow it to startup. Then click on the left side of the screen to select the Instrument Configuration view.
See if the Model 2602A is shown. If it is not shown, then look on your pc in the following directory:
Documents\Keithley Instruments\KickStart\Log\
Find the latest .txt file and attach it here...(if .txt file is not accepted as a valid attachment, then zip and attach as .zip file)
Also, let us know what version of windows you have on your pc and if you have any other versions of VISA installed.
Dear Stuart,
First of all, thank you for your response.
I have KickStart 1.9.7 installed but quoted the release note to prove that KickStart can actually work with the 2602A since the release of 1.9.5

The .txt file was very helpfull because it showed me first that there was something wrong with the 'location information'.
That is fixed know but Kickstart remains in silence..
I have added some screenshots where you can see that the VISA is recognized correctly by NI-VISA, it reponds to messages but apparently it's not good enought for Kickstart.
The Keithley logfile shows:

Trying to connect to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR
Failed to connect to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR - error: HRESULT = 80040015

Trying to connect to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::INSTR
Failed to connect to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::INSTR - error: HRESULT = 80040011

I've got the feeling we're getting close but we are missing a small detail.
I hope you can indicate 'what' we are missing..

Best Regards,

Michel
Attachments
2017-10-17_22-26-06.jpg
2017-10-17_22-26-06.jpg (96.85 KiB) Viewed 1477 times
2017-10-17_22-24-10.jpg
2017-10-17_22-24-10.jpg (177.11 KiB) Viewed 1477 times
2017_10_17_22_27_36.txt
(4.37 KiB) Downloaded 47 times

michel123
Posts: 9
Joined: October 13th, 2017, 12:57 pm
Country: Netherlands

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by michel123 » October 17th, 2017, 2:35 pm

Jennifer C wrote:
October 16th, 2017, 9:03 am
Hi Michel,

You'll have to use LAN or GPIB as the 2602A does not have a USB communication port.

If you use LAN, there may be a slight delay in KickStart discovering the instrument. You may need to press the "Refresh Instrument Discovery" button in the top menu bar more than once. Make sure that you can "ping" the instrument's IP address before attempting to connect via KickStart. If you can "ping" the instrument and KickStart is correctly installed, then KickStart should be able to discover the instrument.

Using a USB to GPIB converter should be very straightforward. Which converter / adapter are you using?

Jennifer
Dear Jennefer,
Thanks for your advice. I've a valid VISA connection, can exchange info via the Open VISA Test Panel. So I agree that KickStart should be able to discover the instrument.. but it won't.
I have tried
- LAN,
- GPIB-USB,
- GPIB-Ethernet.
The GPIB adapters where both from Prologix. I tried them only because I got no response via LAN.
I prefer to communicate directly via LAN, if possible.

Best Regards,
Michel

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 367
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by Stuart M » October 19th, 2017, 8:04 am

Examing your GPIB-USB connection further...let's try this one again:
Connect you GPIB-USB interface to the pc and to the 26xxA instrument.
Open NI-VISA Interactive Control.
You should see both the GPIB0::INTFC and GPIB0::nn::INSTR listed as resources.
(If you don't see both, then you'll have to troubleshoot your GPIB driver).
If you do see both, then open KickStart and see if the instrument is found.
(see attached screenshot captures from my session here).
If not found, send me the latest .txt file from your session.
Attachments
KS_26XX_gpibConnection.jpg
KS_26XX_gpibConnection.jpg (174.77 KiB) Viewed 1438 times

michel123
Posts: 9
Joined: October 13th, 2017, 12:57 pm
Country: Netherlands

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by michel123 » October 19th, 2017, 3:00 pm

Hai, Stuart

Thank your for your mail.
The GPIB-USB was borrowed and not in my possesion. I do have a Prologic GPIB-Ethernet adapter.

I prefer to use only an Ethernet connection and as you could see in the -, VISA works so now the step Kickstart <=> VISA.
You asked for the log file but I have already send it to you. It's the file below the - in my previous post.

When I open NI I/O Trace to monitor the activities while Kickstart starts up then this is what is logged:
2017-10-19_23-43-04.jpg
2017-10-19_23-43-04.jpg (116.29 KiB) Viewed 1428 times
I have no idea what it means.
The same logging appears when I press on the 'refresh Instrument Discovery'-button in Kickstart.

Are there perhaps some necessary setting needed in VISA?

Greetings, Michel

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 367
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by Stuart M » October 20th, 2017, 12:17 pm

i have nearly the same setup (except for your network) here and things are working.
i am using ni-visa 17.0.0 and my 26xxA instrument has the same 2.2.6 firmware revision.
i also have the following lan settings:
method = auto
dns = verify
dynamic =enable
speed = 100 MBPS
duplex = FULL

you may want to try a manual fixed IP address too...not sure if you are having some specific networking problems.
i would recommend you might want to also just try a direct to pc (using a crossover cable) to eliminate all networking problems
and use a subnet mask to 255.255.192.000
Attachments
26xxAtcpipResultsWith KS1.9.7.jpg
26xxAtcpipResultsWith KS1.9.7.jpg (562 KiB) Viewed 1407 times

michel123
Posts: 9
Joined: October 13th, 2017, 12:57 pm
Country: Netherlands

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by michel123 » October 22nd, 2017, 7:24 am

Dear Stuart

Thank you for your feedback and proof of functionality.
I have installed ni-visa 17.0.0 and checked everything. In the log file I read that Kickstart recognize the smu but can't connect because
".. the format of the input string is incorrect. " (In Dutch, 'the order of characters is incorrect).


VISA returned the following resources:
TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR

Ethernet discovery is enabled so checking if any IP addresses added manually

Trying to connect to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR
Connected to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR
Trying to identify the resource
*idn? response: Keithley Instruments Inc., Model 2602A, 1396992, 2.2.6
Visa Resourse: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR was detected as a Model Model 2602A, Serial Number: 1396992 and firmware version: 2.2.6 but not added to KickStarts list of available instruments yet:
Failed to connect to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR - error: De indeling van de invoertekenreeks is onjuist.

Done with identifying VISA resources
Added simulation device: SMU Simulator
Added simulation device: DAQ Simulator
Added simulation device: DMM Simulator
Added simulation device: EMETER Simulator

--
--


I will upload the logfile for you to investigate.

Best Regards, Michel
Attachments
2017_10_22_15_39_48.txt
(4.72 KiB) Downloaded 50 times

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 367
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by Stuart M » October 23rd, 2017, 10:59 am

It appears that you are attempting to add the same device more than once.
Perhaps you have added it manually and are also autodetecting it.

You should remove any KickStart manual devices.
Also go in to NI Max and remove any aliases/saved Ethernet devices.

Then close NI Max and VISA Interactive and any other open connections to your instrument.
Restart KickStart and see if can simply now autodetect and add your instrument.

michel123
Posts: 9
Joined: October 13th, 2017, 12:57 pm
Country: Netherlands

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by michel123 » October 23rd, 2017, 1:42 pm

Dear Stuart,

You wrote: > It appears that you are attempting to add the same device more than once.
can you explain me how to make this conclusion?
Doesn't the log file indicate that there is 1 device, recognized, and that Kickstart can't connect because the format of the input string is incorrect.

> You should remove any KickStart manual devices
I have checked everything. There are no other devices and there is nothing to see, not in NI-Visa, not in Kickstart.

The Kickstart logging talks about:
Visa Resourse: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR was detected as a Model 2602A, Serial Number: 1396992 and firmware version: 2.2.6
but not added to KickStarts list of available instruments yet:

then follows the reason:
Failed to connect to Visa Resource TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR - error: De indeling van de invoertekensreeks is onjuist
(Translated: the format of the characters/input strings are wrong).

Is the format something that can be chosen/changed/Programmed via VISA?

Greetings, Michel

2017-10-23_22-15-35.jpg
2017-10-23_22-15-35.jpg (142.59 KiB) Viewed 1342 times

John_R
Posts: 3
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by John_R » October 23rd, 2017, 1:45 pm

Michel,

Can you try switching your Windows to English and not Dutch. Just as a test!

John

michel123
Posts: 9
Joined: October 13th, 2017, 12:57 pm
Country: Netherlands

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by michel123 » October 26th, 2017, 1:03 pm

Dear Stuart,

When I use NI-I/O trace I see this:

2017-10-26_19-51-05.jpg
2017-10-26_19-51-05.jpg (208.76 KiB) Viewed 1243 times
Log file :

Trying to connect to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR
Connected to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR
Trying to identify the resource
*idn? response: Keithley Instruments Inc., Model 2602A, 1396992, 2.2.6
Visa Resourse: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR was detected as a Model Model 2602A, Serial Number: 1396992 and firmware version: 2.2.6 but not added to KickStarts list of available instruments yet:
Failed to connect to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.1.250::inst0::INSTR - error:


"Input string was not in a correct format".. I read at several places on the internet about keithley and utf-8 / urt-16 format.
Could there be an utf mismach?

Best Regards,

Michel

2017_10_26_20_37_44.txt
(4.71 KiB) Downloaded 39 times

John_R
Posts: 3
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by John_R » October 26th, 2017, 1:14 pm

Michel, I figured this much out. The problem is with the Dutch language in your case. Other languages using a comma instead of a decimal point and visa versa for the numbers. Switching it to English will fix this for now.

michel123
Posts: 9
Joined: October 13th, 2017, 12:57 pm
Country: Netherlands

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by michel123 » November 14th, 2017, 7:46 am

Dear John,

It worked indeed to change the Ducht 'country and language" settings to English.
2017-11-14_16-07-25.jpg
2017-11-14_16-07-25.jpg (90.72 KiB) Viewed 571 times
I hope the Tektronix will fix this in the next release of Kickstart.

The 2602A is now recognized by Kickstart and it appears in the list of instruments.
2017-11-14_16-42-10.jpg
2017-11-14_16-42-10.jpg (24.44 KiB) Viewed 571 times
Nevertheless, I still have a problem with Kickstart and the 2602A because as soon as I activate a measurement via Kickstart, 2 errors on the 2602A appears:
Query INTERUPTED ERROR CODE: -410
Query UNTERMINATED ERROR CODE -420.

After these errors, the SMU is doing its measurement, but does not send the data to Kickstart.

Have you had the same experience and have you been able to solve it?

Greetings,

Michel

John_R
Posts: 3
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by John_R » November 14th, 2017, 8:25 am

Michel,

Can you please run NI I/O Trace and post it here when the errors are happening on the instrument?

John

michel123
Posts: 9
Joined: October 13th, 2017, 12:57 pm
Country: Netherlands

Re: Kickstart connection with 2602A

Post by michel123 » November 23rd, 2017, 2:18 pm

Dear John,

I have used NI I/O Trace to capture the commands and the response.
Does Kickstart has an issue with the termination?

The code below is without color, but Line 125 and line 149 where printed red.
capture2.jpg
capture2.jpg (1.06 MiB) Viewed 35 times
message.jpg
message.jpg (22.85 KiB) Viewed 35 times


Sorry for the poor quality of the code but it seems that the website doesn't allow upload >2 MB.

Best Regards,
Michel

Post Reply

Return to “2600 Series SourceMeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests