Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

2602B not executing commands and randomly working on REM

Models 2601, 2602, 2611, 2612, 2635, 2636
Models 2601A, 2602A, 2611A, 2612A, 2635A, 2636A
Models 2601B, 2602B, 2604B, 2611B, 2612B, 2614B, 2634B, 2635B, 2636B
Post Reply
Noeaalto
Posts: 2
Joined: July 5th, 2018, 2:58 am
Country: Finland

2602B not executing commands and randomly working on REM

Post by Noeaalto » July 5th, 2018, 3:08 am

Hey!

Product: 2602B with latest firmware and emulation script for remote control. Connected with USB. Intrument is set on REM. Latest drivers and NI-VISA installed.

Issue: Trying to open instrument on TestScriptBuilder generates NI-VISA timeout error most of the time. I managed to connect it and run scripts couple of times.
Also using keithley communicator, intrument opens but sending simple command such as "beeper.beep(1,1000)" gives error for invalid syntax. Again, this same command worked some days ago without problem. Tried different USB ports and other cable with no change.

brian.d.smith
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 402
Joined: June 10th, 2013, 6:00 am
Country: United States

Re: 2602B not executing commands and randomly working on REM

Post by brian.d.smith » July 5th, 2018, 4:28 am

My guess is that this is a Windows USB driver issue. In our rack and stack systems with multiple 26xxB instruments, we use GPIB to the master and LAN cables from the master to all of the slaves. It costs more to communicate this way. USB cables are inexpensive. There is a reason that systems that have to be up working 24/7/365 use GPIB.

If you absolutely cannot use GPIB, I would suggest that you try the LAN cable that is shipped with the instrument.

Noeaalto
Posts: 2
Joined: July 5th, 2018, 2:58 am
Country: Finland

Re: 2602B not executing commands and randomly working on REM

Post by Noeaalto » July 6th, 2018, 8:59 am

Problem is solved. When connecting to TSB without instrument being on REM, connection is established immediately.
Manual seems outdated, because referring to it, instrument needs to be set on REM before connecting to computer.

brian.d.smith
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 402
Joined: June 10th, 2013, 6:00 am
Country: United States

Re: 2602B not executing commands and randomly working on REM

Post by brian.d.smith » July 6th, 2018, 10:43 am

Noeaalto wrote:
July 6th, 2018, 8:59 am
Problem is solved. When connecting to TSB without instrument being on REM, connection is established immediately.
Manual seems outdated, because referring to it, instrument needs to be set on REM before connecting to computer.
I have never had the need to do that with any 26XXB instrument. The REM is automatically set when you connect to the instrument in my experience.

If that works for you, then its a good thing. I have just never known that to be needed.

Post Reply

Return to “2600 Series SourceMeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest