Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

No Current > 5 A possible

Model 2651A
Post Reply
erik-h
Posts: 1
Joined: May 13th, 2016, 6:54 am
Country: Germany

No Current > 5 A possible

Post by erik-h » May 20th, 2016, 12:45 am

Hey,

a couple of days ago our 2651A started to make problem when makening an I/V sweep. Everything is fine for a current limit up to 4.9 A. For a higher limit, e.g. 5 A, suddenly a current of ~10^40 A is returned. And when setting 10 A as current limit, the Keithley freezes.
Any ideas what might be the problem?

Thx

brian.d.smith
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 402
Joined: June 10th, 2013, 6:00 am
Country: United States

Re: No Current > 5 A possible

Post by brian.d.smith » May 31st, 2016, 3:34 am

What voltage is being generated with this current?
Are you forcing voltage or forcing current?
What is the resistance of your device?

Kenneth P
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 212
Joined: October 25th, 2010, 1:31 pm
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: No Current > 5 A possible

Post by Kenneth P » June 14th, 2016, 11:24 am

At 5A current, the maximum voltage is 20V. If you voltage range is set to 20V, the most current that the 2651A can source is 5A. If you're sourcing current above 5A, the load resistance must not be less than four Ohms. The error message may suggest that a measurement is not possible. As Brian has noted, what are you operating conditions? One other question: Is this a problem that just occurred on a previously operating script or is this the first time you've operated the 2651A under this condition?

Post Reply

Return to “2651A High Current SourceMeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest