Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

dual 2657A configuration

Model 2657A
Post Reply
dumas_brian
Posts: 3
Joined: August 2nd, 2016, 12:17 pm
Country: United States

dual 2657A configuration

Post by dumas_brian » August 2nd, 2016, 1:41 pm

Hello All, I have a requirement to connect two 2657A SMU's to one GPIB. Originally, I was going to daisy chain the GPIB from on 2675A to the next. After looking at the product spec, I am now considering connect the GPIB from the PC to the first 2657A, and then link that 2657A to the next with the TSP port (is that correct?). What I would like to know is :

1) can I send one command via GPIB that reaches both 2657A's?
2) can I send individual commands to each 2657A? Using nodes[]?
3) does the user set each 2657A as node[1] and the other as node[2]?

Thanks, Brian

brian.d.smith
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 402
Joined: June 10th, 2013, 6:00 am
Country: United States

Re: dual 2657A configuration

Post by brian.d.smith » August 15th, 2016, 4:26 pm

Choose a master 2657A. Set that as TSPLINK node 1. Set the other 2657A as node 2.
Node 1 is connected to your computer via GPIB or Ethernet corssover cable as you prefer. Node 1 is conneceted to node 2 via Ethernet Crossover cable using the TSPLINK jacks on the rear of the instruments.



1) can I send one command via GPIB that reaches both 2657A's?

You should use the TSP commands. The node identifier precedes the command. There are examples in the Reference Manual and in Test Script Builder. One command reaches one instrument. All commands are received by the master and either executed on the master or sent to the proper destination instrument.

2) can I send individual commands to each 2657A? Using nodes[]?

Yes

3) does the user set each 2657A as node[1] and the other as node[2]?

Yes via front panel menu.

dumas_brian
Posts: 3
Joined: August 2nd, 2016, 12:17 pm
Country: United States

Re: dual 2657A configuration

Post by dumas_brian » September 13th, 2016, 5:00 pm

Ok. So I have two 2657A. I have connected GPIB to first 2657A and a cross over cable from the right port of the first 2657A to the left port of the second 2657A. I assigned TSPLink #1 to the first 2657A (the one with the GPIB connected) and TSPLINK #2 to the second 2657A. When I issue a tsplink.reset() command, bot 2657A's show error 1202. I have replaced the crossover cable. Still the same error. I tried all the combinations of left port to right port, left to left, right to right, and right to left. Same error.

Both instruments report version 1.1.4
the second 2657A reports these errors on power up:
5001
5051
5003

Not sure if that has anything to do with the tsplink.reset() reset error.

Thanks, Brian

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1323
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: dual 2657A configuration

Post by Andrea C » September 15th, 2016, 6:24 am

Brian,

The error messages are very concerning.
The first two are FATAL errors indicating some sort of malfunction.

From the error summary list table in section 8 of the reference guide:
5001 FATAL SMU unresponsive
5051 FATAL Model number/SMU hardware mismatch
5003 SERIOUS saved calibration constants corrupted

I advise to get an RMA and have the unit serviced.
http://www.tek.com/repair

Post Reply

Return to “2657A High Voltage SourceMeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests