Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

Doing C-V test by connecting Keithely 4200 with Keithley590

Post Reply
ItsDryHeat
Posts: 2
Joined: August 4th, 2015, 6:02 pm
Country: United States

Doing C-V test by connecting Keithely 4200 with Keithley590

Post by ItsDryHeat » August 4th, 2015, 6:25 pm

Hello,

I am interested in doing C-V test using a 590 and change settings/receive outputs by a 4200. Connection from 590 to 4200 were verified and I was able to get data from 590 on 4200's computer using a plotter emulator.
The UTM was configured to get its User Library from KI590ulib, its User Module from CvSweep590.

Though 590 itself was able to measure the capacitance of my setup and display it on its front panel. The measurement reading from 4200 was always "-10022" under column "CvSweep590". No other readings were there. It seems that no sweep nor other actions were triggered by 4200. I changed input channel from CMTR1 to CMTR2,3,and4, it did not work. Can anyone help me figure out how to set 4200 correctly to conduct this cv test?

A screenshot of my settings and a screenshot of the output are attached to this post.

Thanks.
Attachments
Reading from 4200.JPG
Reading from 4200.JPG (24.72 KiB) Viewed 16379 times
4200SettingsFor_cv_test.JPG
4200SettingsFor_cv_test.JPG (129.83 KiB) Viewed 16379 times

Vince W
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 108
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 12:27 pm
Country: United States

Re: Doing C-V test by connecting Keithely 4200 with Keithley

Post by Vince W » August 5th, 2015, 12:44 pm

Hello, you may be my customer. Are you in AZ? We have a dry heat in CO as well, just not as HOT.

The value of the variable CvSweep590 is the return value of the UTM function. It is returning an error code, which are in the UTM description:
RETURN VALUES:
--------------
0 OK.
-10022 (KI590_NOT_IN_KCON) There is no CMTR defined in
your system's configuration.

The code is looking for "KI590" in the CMTR1 instrument ID's MODELNUM attribute. I'm checking this on my 4200. I'll get back here as soon as I test this out. I don't have a 590, but I don't think I'll need one.
Image
A Greater Measure of Confidence

Vince W
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 108
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 12:27 pm
Country: United States

Re: Doing C-V test by connecting Keithely 4200 with Keithley

Post by Vince W » August 5th, 2015, 12:59 pm

So, this error did not occur on my system.

I think the problem is that you don't have CMTR1 in your 4200 system configuration (KCON).
Exit KITE, start KCON, select Tools->Add External Instrument->Capacitance Meter->Keithley 590 CV Analyzer
By default, this should create an instrument named CMTR1.
Make sure the GPIB address matches that of the 590 and there are no other instruments connected with that address.
Be sure to save the configuration using File->Save
Attachments
KCON590.png
KCON590.png (48.55 KiB) Viewed 16365 times
Image
A Greater Measure of Confidence

ItsDryHeat
Posts: 2
Joined: August 4th, 2015, 6:02 pm
Country: United States

Re: Doing C-V test by connecting Keithely 4200 with Keithley

Post by ItsDryHeat » August 5th, 2015, 2:57 pm

Hi Vince,

Yep, I'm in AZ.
Thanks a lot, re-configuration solved the problem. Now everything is up and running.

Post Reply

Return to “4200-SCS Semiconductor Parameter Analyzer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests