Page 1 of 1

4200A remote controlled

Posted: September 6th, 2018, 5:13 am
by zvikae
I Know it is possible to control the 4200A via KXCI, but this means to wright some code. Is it possible to run a Clarius project or test from a remote computer and get the data including calculated data by Formulator ?
If not, does Keithley have some way of transferring Clarius tests/projects to KXCI commands ?

Re: 4200A remote controlled

Posted: September 11th, 2018, 6:41 am
by Brad O
Hi zvikae,

It is not currently possible to run a Clarius project remotely via commands. There is also no direct way of translating Clarius projects to KXCI commands. If you wanted to control the instrument remotely, I would recommend using Windows Remote Desktop which which is included on your 4200A.

Re: 4200A remote controlled

Posted: September 11th, 2018, 1:43 pm
by zvikae
when you say "It is not currently possible to run a Clarius project remotely via commands" does it mean it will be in the future ? if yes, when ?

Re: 4200A remote controlled

Posted: September 12th, 2018, 7:07 am
by Brad O
It's been an idea for the design team but there's currently no plan to implement any functionality like that.

That said, we log customer feedback; so if you'd be willing to elaborate, it can help the design team in the future if they decide to develop a different remote control scheme. Like how would remote control ideally work for you? Could you give a basic example of how you'd like use it?

Re: 4200A remote controlled

Posted: September 12th, 2018, 10:08 am
by zvikae
I offered a customer to replace an old Keithley 237 and an old Agilent LCR with the 4200A 2 SMU's a CVU and CVIV.
the customer is checking a diode on a wafer he makes in his FAB they have to do an IV test and CV and calculate Flat Band Voltage.
I found a project in Clarius that does it, we got very good results and customer wants to buy 2 sets. But, they need to run it from their software.
if we could run the project from their software like a subroutine (in a similar way it is done in the 26xx instruments and TSP) and receive the measured data with the calculated data from the 4200A it will be very simple to make the change.
using Kxci requires to writ code, debug it and make the calculation again.

question does Kxci supports the CVIV? and CVU compensation?

Re: 4200A remote controlled

Posted: September 12th, 2018, 11:26 am
by Brad O
CVIV control and CVU Compensation can be performed through KXCI, but it is not possible to run a Clarius project over KXCI.

Re: 4200A remote controlled

Posted: September 13th, 2018, 12:23 am
by zvikaef
Hi Brad.
thanks for your replies.
one more question, I want to use the 2410 via the 4200A, how can it be done?

Re: 4200A remote controlled

Posted: September 14th, 2018, 6:45 am
by Brad O
That would also be done through KXCI controlling the 2410 as another remote instrument. Also, please see your PMs.

Re: 4200A remote controlled

Posted: September 15th, 2018, 10:01 am
by zvikae
No, I meant to control the 2410 from the 4200A under Clarius, is there a library to do this?

Re: 4200A remote controlled

Posted: September 17th, 2018, 6:28 am
by Brad O
There's no default User Library for controlling a 2410 (though it would be possible), so a 2410 cannot be controlled from Clarius without writing your own code. Please see your Private Message inbox.