Errors with KickStart 2.0

Model 2450, 2460
Post Reply
tuvela
Posts: 14
Joined: June 12th, 2018, 7:47 am
Country: United States

Errors with KickStart 2.0

Post by tuvela » June 13th, 2018, 8:11 am

I tried 2.0 this morning with a 2450 set up just like it was yesterday for KickStart 1.9 (which works fine).
I set up a simple I-V sweep and get three errors:

Error: Channel My 2450: IOLayerWithErrorChecking: -286 TSP Runtime error: Cannot modify read-only table. 1 2 1528887305 766238100 (6/13/2018 7:19:13 AM)
Error: Channel My 2450: IOLayerWithErrorChecking: -286 TSP Runtime error: Cannot modify read-only table. 1 2 1528887305 766238100 (6/13/2018 7:19:13 AM)
Error: Channel My 2450: IOLayerWithErrorChecking: -286 TSP Runtime error: Cannot modify read-only table. 1 2 1528887305 766238100 (6/13/2018 7:19:13 AM)

I don't find anything in the 2450 manual about this, and don't know where to look for KickStart error info. Can anyone help with this?
Thanks,
Steve

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 401
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Errors with KickStart 2.0

Post by Stuart M » June 13th, 2018, 9:29 am

Can you provide more details on your KickStart2 setup?
What mode did you use?
How many 2450s are you using and how are they connected to the pc and to each other?
What settings did you use that were not default?
Can you attach the ksp file?

tuvela
Posts: 14
Joined: June 12th, 2018, 7:47 am
Country: United States

Re: Errors with KickStart 2.0

Post by tuvela » June 13th, 2018, 10:13 am

I just got the same errors using the default I-V configuration.
I have a single 2450 connected to a Windows 7 laptop via USB.

Thanks,
Steve
Attachments
test.zip
(3.54 KiB) Downloaded 141 times

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 401
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Errors with KickStart 2.0

Post by Stuart M » June 13th, 2018, 11:36 am

What is firmware version for your Model 2450?
You can find the version here:
Press the Menu key
Then press the -> Info/Manage key
The Version is listed at the top of the screen...

tuvela
Posts: 14
Joined: June 12th, 2018, 7:47 am
Country: United States

Re: Errors with KickStart 2.0

Post by tuvela » June 13th, 2018, 11:42 am

I don't know if our 2450 isn't working right, but I can very seldom get any response from the buttons in the upper left:
Home
Menu
Quickset
Help

I just power cycled the box and tried it again--no response to pushing those buttons. I am unable to tell you the FW as a result.
It seems like at least the help button should always respond, something isn't right.

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 401
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Errors with KickStart 2.0

Post by Stuart M » June 13th, 2018, 11:46 am

It is possible the unit front panel is damaged...and you likely will want this to be serviced.
Let's try this....if you connect the unit via usb to KickStart2 and right-mouse click on the icon for your 2450 it will show many items...one of them "Firmware Version".

tuvela
Posts: 14
Joined: June 12th, 2018, 7:47 am
Country: United States

Re: Errors with KickStart 2.0

Post by tuvela » June 13th, 2018, 11:52 am

Thank you Stuart. My FW is 1.2.0f

The forum says "You cannot make another post so soon after your last." This seems silly.

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 401
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Errors with KickStart 2.0

Post by Stuart M » June 13th, 2018, 12:14 pm

Likely the unit will need to be serviced...but with KickStart2 your problem is that your firmware is not at the minimum recommended version. If you can get the front panel keys to work enough to flash to new firmware...here is a link to the latest version:

2450 Firmware Revision 1.6.4c & Release Notes
https://www.tek.com/source-measure-unit ... ease-notes

Download the firmware and copy to a usb flash drive and insert into the front of the unit.
Press the Menu key.
Then Press the Info/Manage key.
Then Press the Upgrade to New button.

If the buttons will not work, you can also connect the instrument on lan and open it's web page and use the virtual front panel to push these same buttons and control the instrument for firmware updating...

(KickStart2 can help you to discover the instrument and when connected by lan if you right-mouse click on the instrument it will tell you the Resource which will contain the ip address of the instrument (e.g. 134.63.79.201). Enter this ip address in your web browser and the virtual front panel will open)

tuvela
Posts: 14
Joined: June 12th, 2018, 7:47 am
Country: United States

Re: Errors with KickStart 2.0

Post by tuvela » June 13th, 2018, 1:09 pm

That worked great, the instrument now works with 2.0.
It turns out the buttons do work, they just need to be pushed and wiggled.

Thanks much for your help Stuart.

Steve

Post Reply

Return to “2450/2460 Touchscreen SourceMeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest