Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

2510 TEC Sourcemeter / PID limitations

Post Reply
AlexPopov
Posts: 3
Joined: February 28th, 2013, 12:34 am
Country: France

2510 TEC Sourcemeter / PID limitations

Post by AlexPopov » February 28th, 2013, 12:59 am

Hello all,

I use a Keithley 2510 TEC Sourcemeter to control, with a PID loop, a Peltier. The Keithley 2510 is controlled by GPIB, using VISA interface.

Everything seems to work well but I have a problem with the PID Proportional Constant range (same for I and D). The documentation I have (2510 User Manual, Revision E) indicates pages 56 and 146 that the Proportional Constant can be set from 0 to 100000 (same for Integral and Derivative).
The problem I encountered is that I can't set the Proportional constant to a value >999. I tried to configure the Proportional constant using the 2510 front panel as mush as using GPIB SCPI commands and I always get a -222 error.

Is this situation normal ?
Is there any firmware update for the 2510 (none available on the Keithley website) ?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

AlexPopov
France

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2842
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: 2510 TEC Sourcemeter / PID limitations

Post by Dale C » February 28th, 2013, 6:45 am

I am using a 2510 with revision A08 and can send all these commands with no errors.
:SOUR:VOLT:LCON:GAIN 1e5
:SOUR:VOLT:LCON:INT 1e5
:SOUR:VOLT:LCON:DER 1e5

:SOUR:CURR:LCON:GAIN 1e5
:SOUR:CURR:LCON:INT 1e5
:SOUR:CURR:LCON:DER 1e5

:SOUR:TEMP:LCON:GAIN 1e5
:SOUR:TEMP:LCON:GAIN 1e5
:SOUR:TEMP:LCON:GAIN 1e5

:SOUR:RES:LCON:GAIN 1e5
:SOUR:RES:LCON:INT 1e5
:SOUR:RES:LCON:DER 1e5


The -222 error means the parameter data is out of the range of the instrument.
What firmware revision of the 2510 do you have?

AlexPopov
Posts: 3
Joined: February 28th, 2013, 12:34 am
Country: France

Re: 2510 TEC Sourcemeter / PID limitations

Post by AlexPopov » February 28th, 2013, 6:54 am

Here is the replies to the identification and system version queries :

Identification :KEITHLEY INSTRUMENTS INC.,MODEL 2510,0815229,A04 Dec 01 2000 11:54:50/A02 /D
SCPI Version :1996.0

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2842
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: 2510 TEC Sourcemeter / PID limitations

Post by Dale C » February 28th, 2013, 8:53 am

After researching this a littler further I found that A08 was the change that went from 999 to 100,000.
And wouldn't you know it, I had an A08 version so it tested ok.
Unfortunately the unit must sent back for service for an upgrade.
The closest service center would be
Tektronix SAS
Keithley Instruments
Parc Technopolis - Bâtiment Omega
3, avenue du Canada
Z.A. Courtaboeuf 1
91940 LES ULIS
Tel: 33-1-69 86 83 60
Fax: 33-1-69 86 83 61
Web: www.keithley.fr
Email: [email protected]

AlexPopov
Posts: 3
Joined: February 28th, 2013, 12:34 am
Country: France

Re: 2510 TEC Sourcemeter / PID limitations

Post by AlexPopov » March 1st, 2013, 12:15 am

Thanks a lot for your fast answer.

I have few questions concerning this upgrade :
* Is the upgrade free ?
* Do I have to contact them before being sure that they can perform the upgrade here in France ?
* Why the firmware upgrade can't be done here in my labs ? We can't use the firmware upgrade ?

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2842
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: 2510 TEC Sourcemeter / PID limitations

Post by Dale C » March 1st, 2013, 6:01 am

Contact the service dept for answers to these questions.

Post Reply

Return to “Other Keithley Instrument Products”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests