Page 1 of 1

Temp reading (thermistor) breaks with 1.7.0e

Posted: May 16th, 2020, 3:20 am
by essele
Hi,

I've just received my 7510, which came with 1.6.7d firmware. I've been doing some measurements with a 5k thermistor, and that was working fine.

After upgrading to 1.7.0e the main reading is now displayed in kC which is really not helpful, with the default three decimal places that's only a 1 degree resolution, rather than 0.1mK in the previous firmware.

The readings are correct in the graphs and a bit mixed in the stats (see attached.)

Am I missing something, or is this a firmware bug?

Thanks,

Lee.

Re: Temp reading (thermistor) breaks with 1.7.0e

Posted: May 16th, 2020, 2:32 pm
by Ilya Grudovik
In the settings, select 7.5 digits instead of the default 3.5.
Kilo degrees is a feature of the firmware :(

Re: Temp reading (thermistor) breaks with 1.7.0e

Posted: May 17th, 2020, 4:49 am
by essele
Thanks .. I hadn't realised this device was designed to measure the temperature of the surface of the sun!

I've only had the thing two days and I've found about 8 bugs in the firmware already. I switched from a 34470a and whilst the feel and quality of the hardware seems better, the firmware is absolutely awful.

Re: Temp reading (thermistor) breaks with 1.7.0e

Posted: May 22nd, 2020, 6:02 am
by Andrea C
I confirm the RTD display oddities with firmware 1.7.0e on DMM7510.
Oddly enough, at same firmware level on DMM6500, it is OK.
I'll open an official bug report for it on the DMM7510 for thermistor and RTD temperature reporting.

Re: Temp reading (thermistor) breaks with 1.7.0e

Posted: July 31st, 2020, 5:09 am
by Andrea C
Firmware 1.7.3e for DMM7510 has been released. It contains a fix for the temperature bug.
Download the firmware here:
https://www.tek.com/search?keywords=dmm ... &sort=desc

Screen capture:
img0731_202107.png
screen shot
img0731_202107.png (47.96 KiB) Viewed 128 times