Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

Moving Filter Stack

2502, 6485, 6487 - Support
Post Reply
Brian.Congdon
Posts: 8
Joined: May 29th, 2015, 7:11 am
Country: United States

Moving Filter Stack

Post by Brian.Congdon » July 20th, 2015, 1:54 pm

If using the Moving Filter, when do readings begin to be added to the stack? Once output is enabled? When, if ever, is the Moving Filter stack flushed?

Brian.Congdon
Posts: 8
Joined: May 29th, 2015, 7:11 am
Country: United States

Re: Moving Filter Stack

Post by Brian.Congdon » July 20th, 2015, 2:05 pm

I'm specifically referring to the Digital Filter. How large is the stack? How often are readings added to the stack?

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2849
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Moving Filter Stack

Post by Dale C » July 20th, 2015, 2:41 pm

The moving average digital filter works like this.
Say the sample count is 10.
It takes 10 samples.
Adds them up.
Divides by 10.
Then this value is displayed.
Then the first sample is discarded and one new sample taken.
Then the new sample and the last nine samples are added up.
Then divided by 10 and one "filtered" reading is displayed.
Then it starts again,
Always with one "new" sample in the stack of the nine.

Brian.Congdon
Posts: 8
Joined: May 29th, 2015, 7:11 am
Country: United States

Re: Moving Filter Stack

Post by Brian.Congdon » July 20th, 2015, 3:29 pm

Do samples begin to be added to the stack once output is enabled? Is the stack flushed when switching between modes (current/ohms)? After averaging and displaying the samples in a stack, how long would it take for the stack to be filled with entirely new samples (I realize that this task would be better achieved with the Repeating Filter, but I'm attempting to troubleshoot and existing setup)?

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2849
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Moving Filter Stack

Post by Dale C » July 21st, 2015, 12:07 pm

Yes, the new sample is added to the existing stack when the measurement is output.
Yes, the stack is flushed when switched to another function.
Since it is the Moving Average, then only the time to take one more sample.

Post Reply

Return to “PicoAmmeters”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest