Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

OCOMP Problem with Keithley 6487

2502, 6485, 6487 - Support
Post Reply
araneve
Posts: 3
Joined: December 16th, 2010, 10:26 pm
Country: China

OCOMP Problem with Keithley 6487

Post by araneve » December 17th, 2010, 1:38 am

Our 6487 is constantly flashing "OCOMP" and "CMPL" even there is no load (no connections made). Measurements and sourcing are ok. Can this be corrected using the front panel button settings or is it an internal hardware problem?

Jeremy G
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 76
Joined: April 29th, 2010, 7:56 am
Country: United Kingdom

Re: OCOMP Problem with Keithley 6487

Post by Jeremy G » December 17th, 2010, 4:07 am

Hello,
Please see section below copied from the 6487 User manual explaining the compliance indicator you are seeing:
At any time, it is possible that the voltage source will go into compliance (current limit
reached). Should this situation occur, the OCOMP annunciator (Output Compliance) will
flash and the displayed voltage value (visible when current readings are configured for
readings of less than 6 digits) will alternate between showing the value and displaying
“CMPL”. If you are in a menu where the voltage source value is not shown on the rightmost
four characters of the display, only the flashing OCOMP annunciator will be shown.
If this occurs with no connection to the V source then there is most likely a fault with the instrument

kathwz
Posts: 2
Joined: June 26th, 2014, 7:52 pm
Country: China

Re: OCOMP Problem with Keithley 6487

Post by kathwz » June 26th, 2014, 7:57 pm

araneve wrote:Our 6487 is constantly flashing "OCOMP" and "CMPL" even there is no load (no connections made). Measurements and sourcing are ok. Can this be corrected using the front panel button settings or is it an internal hardware problem?
I want to know whether this problem has been solved? I also encounter this problem. How to make it?

kathwz
Posts: 2
Joined: June 26th, 2014, 7:52 pm
Country: China

Re: OCOMP Problem with Keithley 6487

Post by kathwz » June 26th, 2014, 8:09 pm

Jeremy G wrote:Hello,
Please see section below copied from the 6487 User manual explaining the compliance indicator you are seeing:
At any time, it is possible that the voltage source will go into compliance (current limit
reached). Should this situation occur, the OCOMP annunciator (Output Compliance) will
flash and the displayed voltage value (visible when current readings are configured for
readings of less than 6 digits) will alternate between showing the value and displaying
“CMPL”. If you are in a menu where the voltage source value is not shown on the rightmost
four characters of the display, only the flashing OCOMP annunciator will be shown.
If this occurs with no connection to the V source then there is most likely a fault with the instrument
Does it mean that the instrument is damaged? Does the instrument need to be sended to factory to fix?

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1489
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: OCOMP Problem with Keithley 6487

Post by Andrea C » June 27th, 2014, 4:40 am

kathwz,

If the 6487 is displaying OCOMP even when nothing is connected to the voltage supply banana jacks, then it does indicate some sort of malfunction.

Andrea

Post Reply

Return to “PicoAmmeters”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests