Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

Applications of 7072 switch card

7001, 7002 and Switch Cards
Post Reply
zhouy20
Posts: 2
Joined: April 1st, 2019, 11:56 am
Country: United States

Applications of 7072 switch card

Post by zhouy20 » May 3rd, 2019, 3:19 pm

Hello,

I would like ask about the applications of 7072 switch card. I have two 2636 connected to each 7072, one by GPIB and one by TSP-link, both 7072 plugged in a 707 switch mainframe, and each 7072 is connected to a probe station. Can this two 7072 run separately at the same time? I tried but it was failed. I'm wondering it's connection issue or it just cannot be using this way.

Thanks very much,
Yuan

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1490
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Applications of 7072 switch card

Post by Andrea C » May 6th, 2019, 4:08 am

When 7072 is installed in the 707 mainframe, rows C through F are expanded to adjacent cards on backplane relays.
However, 707 slots 1 through 3 can be separated from slots 4 through 6.
Check pg 2-20 and 2-21 of 7072 manual.
If 707 is properly configured, place one 7072 card in slot1 and one card in slot 4, there will be no connections between them.

zhouy20
Posts: 2
Joined: April 1st, 2019, 11:56 am
Country: United States

Re: Applications of 7072 switch card

Post by zhouy20 » May 6th, 2019, 9:44 am

Thanks for your reply. As you said, one 7072 in slot 1 and the other 7072 in slot 4, does connection between 707 and 2636 matter? Does 707 recognize both 2636 if i put them both in TSP-link, using different node number?

Thanks,
Yuan

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1490
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Applications of 7072 switch card

Post by Andrea C » May 6th, 2019, 6:03 pm

One 7072 in slot 1; one in slot 4; and 707 configured as two 3-slot matrix.
This creates analog pathway isolation between the two 7072 cards.

To use the two 2636 independently, you still have to close relays on slot 1 or 4. And then command the corresponding SMU to force and measure.

What you can’t do with this config is a digitally handshake switch-smu action. If 707 is busy handshaking with one side, the second side must wait.....or must have a same exact type action and it runs simultaneously as first side.

But simple individual commands to close or open switch (either slot) then SMU source and measure on the closed switches is no problem. While SMU on slot 1 switch measures, you can command something else on slot 4.

In what you have described, the use of tsp-link for the smus is just enabling communication from PC. If you have 707B switch mainframe, it too can be on tsp-link.

Feel free to make a sketch and file attach here in case you feel we have not fully understood the questions.

Post Reply

Return to “7000 Series Switch”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest