Page 1 of 1

2701 with 7708 & 7705

Posted: April 8th, 2011, 11:35 am
by brent_shen
Hi there,

Assume that 2701 contains 7708 in slot 1 and 7705 in slot 2. If the following commands are entered remotely,

1) ROUT:CLOS (@101) ' channel 101 senses a dc voltage
2) ROUT:MULT:CLOS (@201) ' channel 201 switches a built-in relay of 7705 for some purpose

My question: The command on line 2 shouldn't affect any channels of 7708 and the command on line 1 shouldn't affect any channels of 7705, right?

Many Thanks

Brent Shen from MDA

Re: 2701 with 7708 & 7705

Posted: April 11th, 2011, 7:41 am
by Dale C
Using the :ROUTE:CLOSE (@101) command should close channel 101.
Using the :ROUTE:MULT:CLOSE (@201) should close channel 201 without opening or affecting channel 101.
But you could use the following command to combine the two channels, if desired.
:ROUTE:MULT:CLOSE (@101,201)

Re: 2701 with 7708 & 7705

Posted: April 11th, 2011, 11:41 am
by brent_shen
Hi Dale,

Thank you for your reply. Another related question for you. If I switch the previous two commands as follows

1) ROUT:MULT:CLOS (@201) ' Channel 201 of 7705 switches a built-in relay for some purpose; 7705 in slot 2
2) ROUT:CLOS (@101) ' Channel 101 of 7708 senses a dc voltage; 7708 in slot 1

Will the command on Line 2 open Channel 201 of 7705 in Slot 2? My guessing is that it won't open channel 201 because 7705 and 7708 are installed in different slots. Please verify my guess.

P.S. My situation is that 2701, 7708, and 7705 are order by MDA and they haven't been shipped to us yet. However, I am writing a winsock program to control 2701 remotely. After reading 2701 usermanual (man, that's a long long doc), I just want to clear some of my doubts on channel selection.

Thanks a lot

Brent Shen

Re: 2701 with 7708 & 7705

Posted: April 11th, 2011, 12:37 pm
by Dale C
The :ROUTE:MULT command should not close any other channel that what is in the list.
In your example it should only close the channel 201.
Now if you were asking about the 7708 then it you were to use
:ROUTE:CLOSE (@101)
then this would close channel 101 and the appropriate channels to connect it to the multimeter input (Channels 41, 42 or 43).
But not with ROUTE:MULT:CLOS (@101).
That should only close 101.
ROUTE:MULT does two things.
It closes multiple channels.
And it allows access to channels other than the standard 40 channels on the 40 channel cards or other channels on the 20 channel cards.
Such as 41,42 or 43, or 23,24 or 25.