Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

[MDO4104] need VISA command set to pull data in CSV in real time.

DPO/MSO/MDO4000 Series, DPO/MSO/MDO/TDS/THS3000 Series, DPO/MSO/TDS/TPS2000 Series, TBS/TBA1000 Series
Post Reply
4001jh
Posts: 6
Joined: December 1st, 2021, 6:29 pm
Country: South Korea

[MDO4104] need VISA command set to pull data in CSV in real time.

Post by 4001jh » December 1st, 2021, 6:38 pm

Hi.

Is it possible to get waveform data from MDO4104-6 in CSV?
; I want to record waveform for few hours.

using VISA, I can get screen image.
but I need raw data and getting image is slow. :?

Thanks.

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1663
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: [MDO4104] need VISA command set to pull data in CSV in real time.

Post by Andrea C » December 3rd, 2021, 1:42 pm

Try this utility software that uses NI VISA. You could also use NI IOTrace tool and capture the SCPI commands.

https://forum.tek.com/viewtopic.php?f=571&t=140451

4001jh
Posts: 6
Joined: December 1st, 2021, 6:29 pm
Country: South Korea

Re: [MDO4104] need VISA command set to pull data in CSV in real time.

Post by 4001jh » December 8th, 2021, 12:07 am

Andrea C wrote:
December 3rd, 2021, 1:42 pm
Try this utility software that uses NI VISA. You could also use NI IOTrace tool and capture the SCPI commands.

https://forum.tek.com/viewtopic.php?f=571&t=140451
I've installed that program. and I can connect my scope and PC.
; at Console menu.
; *IDN?
; TEKTRONIX,MDO4104-6,C012555,CF:91.1CT FV:v2.94

But at hardcopy screen, There's nothing. and nothing moves.
Save As and Get Hard Copy buttons are not found.
Can I get a manual like quick start guide?

I tried to change screen size of the program and screen zoom and layout setting of windows10.
windows text size in accessibility is also minimum (100%).
But the two buttons are not comming.
; I could not tried to use IO trace.

Thank you.
4001jh.

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1663
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: [MDO4104] need VISA command set to pull data in CSV in real time.

Post by Andrea C » December 8th, 2021, 4:46 pm

Sorry you have that difficulty.

In meantime, for MDO4K try this post instead:
viewtopic.php?t=138684

4001jh
Posts: 6
Joined: December 1st, 2021, 6:29 pm
Country: South Korea

Re: [MDO4104] need VISA command set to pull data in CSV in real time.

Post by 4001jh » December 9th, 2021, 6:30 pm

Andrea C wrote:
December 8th, 2021, 4:46 pm
Sorry you have that difficulty.

In meantime, for MDO4K try this post instead:
viewtopic.php?t=138684
Thanks. It seems the code works.

I've changed two lines.
- import visa -> import pyvisa
- visa_address
Last edited by 4001jh on December 13th, 2021, 12:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

4001jh
Posts: 6
Joined: December 1st, 2021, 6:29 pm
Country: South Korea

Re: [MDO4104] need VISA command set to pull data in CSV in real time.

Post by 4001jh » December 13th, 2021, 12:50 am

Andrea C wrote:
December 8th, 2021, 4:46 pm
Sorry you have that difficulty.

In meantime, for MDO4K try this post instead:
viewtopic.php?t=138684
Dear Andrea C

How can I get data from multi channels? (from ch1 to ch4)

Thanks to your reply ('viewtopic.php?t=138684').
Reading a channel was easy.
But I still have a problem to expand source range.

scope.write('data:source CH1') # this works.
## event status register: 0b00000000
## all event messages: 0,"No events to report - queue empty"

scope.write('data:source CH1-CH4') # this doesn't work
## event status register: 0b00100000
## all event messages: 141,"Invalid character data; Unexpected input following character data; data:source CH1-"


Thanks.

Post Reply

Return to “Non- Windows Based Oscilloscopes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest