Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Questions in this forum area are community supported. Tektronix does not regularly monitor posts in this area.
sschnelle
Posts: 28
Joined: October 9th, 2009, 1:39 pm

Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by sschnelle » February 11th, 2013, 1:42 am

Hi All,

i had to repair an TDS794D oscilloscope, and recognized that there is a 2x10 edge connector on the processor PCB. I checked the schematics of the TDS520B, and it had the pin assignment, but said only 'console cartridge port' and nothing more about it. So i digged into the firmware, and it looks, like there's only one MC68681 DUART on that unknown console cartridge device. So my plan was to build such a console port, but it was weekend and i didn't have a MC68681.

I came up with a simple solution: building an adapter to connect the RS232/Centronics board (option 13) to that connector. required pin assigment is:

Console port -Opt Board - Signal Name
A10 - 1 (D24)
B10 - 3 (D25)
A9 - 5 (D26)
B9 - 7 (D27)
B8 - 2 (D28)
A7 - 4 (D29)
B7 - 6 (D30)
A6 - 8 (D31)

B1 - 21 (A1)
A1 - 23 (A2)
B2 - 25 (A3)
A2 - 22 (A4)
+5V 24 (A5)
GND 26 (A6)

B5 - 12 (INT#)
B4 - 15 (IOCS#)
A5 - 16 (SYSRESET#)
A4 - 17 (RNW)
+5V - 18
+5V - 11

A8 GND
B6 +5V
Last edited by Guest on February 11th, 2013, 2:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Tek Equipment in USE: TDS794D, TLA7016, TLA7NA4, TLA7AA4

sschnelle
Posts: 28
Joined: October 9th, 2009, 1:39 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by sschnelle » February 11th, 2013, 1:45 am

Example console log i captured from my TDS794D (you can also enter commands on the console, see the 'i' command at the end):

No PCMCIA option board detected.

FLOPPY: Detected


Adding 7131 symbols for standalone.



CPU: 68EC040. Processor #0.

Memory Size: 0x1000000. BSP version 1.0.


Executing Smalltalk

-> Executing Diagnostics from Menu

Start Power-On Diag Sequence
hwAccountant probe routines
Probe for unexpected pending ints
Dsp Instr mem size
Dsp D2 mem size
Dsp D1 mem size
Dsy Vect0 mem size
Dsy Vect1 mem size
Dsy Wfm0 mem size
Dsy Wfm1 mem size
Dsy Text0 mem size
Dsy Text1 mem size
Acq number of digitizers
Acq mem size
Cpu timer interval uSec
Cpu Dram size
NvRam mem size
Limit to 1GS/sec presence
Opt Math Package presence
Opt Telecom Masks presence
Opt 3C presence
Opt 4C presence
Opt RS232/ Cent presence
Opt 1M presence
Opt 2M presence
Acq Intlv Cal Id presence
Opt TvTrig presence
Opt TvTrig index
Dsy color presence
Opt floppy drive presence
Opt hard drive presence
Acq number of user channels
dspForcedBus ................... pass
cpuDiagD2MiscReg ............... pass
cpuDiagDSPIntMaskReg ........... pass
cpuDiagD1D2Access .............. pass
cpuDiagDsyAccess ............... pass
dsp68kMemTest .................. pass
cpuDiagFIFOMem ................. pass
dspRunVerify ................... pass
dspBusRequestTest .............. pass
dspImplicitBusAccess ........... pass
dspTristarMemTest .............. pass
dsyDiagPM100Reg ................ pass
dsyPM011RegMem ................. pass
dsyLCSRamdacRegMem ............. pass
dsyMonoRamdacRegMem ............ UNTESTED
dsyVGARamdacRegMem ............. pass
dsyDiagPPRegMem ................ pass
dsyDiagRasRegMem ............... pass
dsyDiagAllMem .................. pass
dsyDiagRegSelect ............... pass
dsyDiagRandDotMode ............. pass
dsySeqYTModeV0Intens ........... pass
dsySeqYTModeV1Intens ........... pass
dsySeqYTModeV1Attrib ........... pass
dsySeqYTModeV0Clip ............. pass
dsyDiagSeqXYModeV1 ............. pass
dsyDiagDecayMode ............... pass
dsyRastModeV0Walk .............. pass
dsyRastModeV1Walk .............. pass
dsyRastModeV1Attrib ............ pass
dsyWaitClock ................... pass
dsySplashScreen ................ pass
cpuDiagAllInts ................. pass
nvLibrariansDiag ............... pass
calLibrarianDefaultCk .......... pass
dspForcedBus ................... pass
acqProcThermistor .............. pass
twoGHz50OhmOvldConf ............ pass
trigGtlRegisterDiag ............ pass
trigBtlRegisterDiag ............ pass
ch1LogicTypeComp ............... pass
ch2LogicTypeComp ............... pass
ch3LogicTypeComp ............... pass
ch4LogicTypeComp ............... pass
ch1EdgeTrigDiag ................ pass
lineTrigDiag ................... pass
dlyTrigDBETrigAfter ............ pass
dlyTrigDBTRunsAfter ............ pass
slewrateTrigDiag ............... pass
trigAttenSerialReg ............. pass
trigPreampSerialReg ............ pass
trigDTCSerialReg ............... pass
trigExtlSerialReg .............. pass
trigDacSerialReg ............... pass
TICountersDiag ................. pass
gtlBigCountersDiag ............. pass
trigBtlConfidenceDiag .......... pass
trigGtlCompRamDiag ............. pass
digRegisterConf ................ pass
digDataFormatConf .............. pass
digSpeedMemConf ................ pass
digAcqSubSampleConf ............ pass
digAcqPeakDetectConf ........... pass
digAcqHiResConf ................ pass
digAcqMemDataConf .............. pass
digAcqMemAddrConf .............. pass
digInterruptConf ............... pass
digA2DConnectsConf ............. pass
digHFStepConf .................. pass
glitchTrigDiag ................. pass
pulseWidthDiag ................. pass
trigNibDiag .................... pass
digInstaVuXYConf ............... pass
fpDiagConf ..................... pass
optDiagPM110Reg ................ pass
optDiagFloppyCacheMem .......... pass
optDiagFloppyControllerIO ...... pass
optDiagFloppyDrive ............. pass
optRS232DuartIO ................ UNTESTED
optRS232DuartIntLoop ........... UNTESTED
optCentronCntrlReg ............. UNTESTED
optTv8bitRegDiag ............... UNTESTED
optTvShiftRegDiag .............. UNTESTED
optTvXparentCodes .............. UNTESTED
optTvDontCareCodes ............. UNTESTED
optTvEdgeAndLevel .............. UNTESTED
optTvSyncLevels ................ UNTESTED
hwAccountant probe routines
Probe for unexpected pending ints
Dsp Instr mem size
Dsp D2 mem size
Dsp D1 mem size
Dsy Vect0 mem size
Dsy Vect1 mem size
Dsy Wfm0 mem size
Dsy Wfm1 mem size
Dsy Text0 mem size
Dsy Text1 mem size
Acq number of digitizers
Acq mem size
Cpu timer interval uSec
Cpu Dram size
NvRam mem size
Limit to 1GS/sec presence
Opt Math Package presence
Opt Telecom Masks presence
Opt 3C presence
Opt 4C presence
Opt RS232/ Cent presence
Opt 1M presence
Opt 2M presence
Acq Intlv Cal Id presence
Opt TvTrig presence
Opt TvTrig index
Dsy color presence
Opt floppy drive presence
Opt hard drive presence
Acq number of user channels
can't open input 'fd0:/startup.bat'

errno = 0x13 (S_errno_ENODEV)


Smalltalk/V Sun Version 1.12

Copyright (C) 1990 Object Technology International Inc.

i


NAME ENTRY TID PRI STATUS PC SP ERRNO DELAY

---------- ------------ -------- --- ---------- -------- -------- ------- -----

tExcTask _excTask 5ffca24 0 PEND 5057f0c 5ffc98c 0 0
tLogTask _logTask 5ffa124 0 PEND 5057f0c 5ffa088 0 0
tShell _shell 5ff6540 1 READY 502a11c 5ff6208 0 0
gpibIHTask _gpibIHTask 539af80 4 PEND 5057f0c 539af00 0 0
fifoTask _fifoTask 5ffdf24 9 READY 5025d9c 5ffded8 0 0
causeEnable_causeEnable 5fffcac 10 PEND 5057f0c 5fffc1c 0 0
rtcTicker _dateTimeQue 539edd0 51 DELAY 501b542 539ed84 0 35
priority_no_priority_no 539c380 60 PEND 5025d9c 539c33c 0 0
grun Reboot_rebootGrun 53967e4 65 PEND 5025d9c 539679c 0 0
GPIB monito_GpibMonitor 539a568 68 PEND 5025d9c 539a50c 0 0
GPIB reboot52799cc 5399c28 68 PEND 5025d9c 5399be4 0 0
trigStatus _trigStatusQ 539f76c 69 DELAY 501b542 539f72c 0 2
GPIB parser_Grun 53992e8 70 PEND 5025d9c 5398f70 3d0001 0
V main _main 53a5390 100 PEND 5025d9c 53a5300 3d0002 0
calThread3 _calRunner 5fff290 102 PEND 5025d9c 5fff250 0 0
calThread2 _calRunner 53a2af0 102 PEND 5025d9c 53a2ab0 0 0
calThread1 _calRunner 53a19c4 102 PEND 5025d9c 53a1984 0 0
calThread0 _calRunner 53a0898 102 PEND 5025d9c 53a0858 0 0
evalProcess_eval_loop 539da6c 120 PEND 5025d9c 539da2c 3d0002 0
value = 0 = 0x0

->
Tek Equipment in USE: TDS794D, TLA7016, TLA7NA4, TLA7AA4

rochoz
Posts: 90
Joined: October 8th, 2011, 9:55 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by rochoz » February 11th, 2013, 3:03 pm

Wow, this is interesting stuff, I've been looking for a utility debugger just like this.

One question, after you wired up the serial/parallel option board to the scope, I assume you attached to the serial port, right? What baud rate did you use?

sschnelle
Posts: 28
Joined: October 9th, 2009, 1:39 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by sschnelle » February 11th, 2013, 11:02 pm

The console port uses 9600 Baud, 8N1 with RTS/CTS flow control.

Interesting commands on my TDS7xx scopes:

libManagerWordAtPut(0x50006, 1) <- Enable option 1M
libManagerWordAtPut(0x50007, 1) <- Enable option 05
libManagerWordAtPut(0x50008, 1) <- Enable option 13
libManagerWordAtPut(0x50009, 1) <- Enable option 2F
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000a, 1) <- Enable option 1F
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000c, 1) <- Enable option 2C
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000d, 1) <- Enable option 3C
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000e, 1) <- Enable option 4C
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000f, 1) <- Enable option 2M

Note that some options depends on hardware, and the offset might not be valid on all scope firmware versions. So backup you nvram first ;)
Tek Equipment in USE: TDS794D, TLA7016, TLA7NA4, TLA7AA4

nctnico
Posts: 126
Joined: August 29th, 2009, 2:36 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by nctnico » February 14th, 2013, 7:06 pm

Very interesting. I have a TDS510A (a model from the mid 90's) which has lost option 2F and I would like to get it back. How did you find out the offsets?

sschnelle
Posts: 28
Joined: October 9th, 2009, 1:39 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by sschnelle » February 15th, 2013, 1:23 am

I got those codes from the Firmware itself. However, if you have the Field Adjustment Software for the scope, you could check it, some versions have CON files, which contain the option values. In the TDS700D Field Adjustment Software, the TDS794D.CON for my scope
contains:

VAR = hwAOption1M(UNIT "" VALUE 327686), where 327686 is decimal of 0x50006.
VAR = hwAOption2M(UNIT "" VALUE 327695)
... and so on for all other options.

I guess you can also enable the options via GPIB with the following well known commands:

PASSWORD PITBULL
WORDCONSTANT:ATPUT 327686,1

However, i only got those commands from the Adjustment Software CON files, and never tried it. So again, before fiddling with this, back up your NVRAM ;)

Cheers
Sven
Tek Equipment in USE: TDS794D, TLA7016, TLA7NA4, TLA7AA4

cap
Posts: 397
Joined: May 1st, 2009, 8:16 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by cap » February 15th, 2013, 10:42 am

EDITED: The 1M Option (if the scope has the big memory option) and 2F Options do work with the above addresses on a TDS540A; so probably all. The gpib is the easy way. If the option is supported it will take, Options 3C and 4C both require calibration so your scope wont show pass if you enable these but don't calibrate those options, turn them back off w/0, and all is well again.

My console port card, which is factory, prints a somewhat different listing w/boot setting and is vxworks, changing setting on it would likely access the smalltalk mechanism that it mentions but does not default too. It's amazing how much is going on under the hood of these if you can see it, watch spc as it occurs etc.

Nothing wonderfull, I rarely use it, now that the option bit is out over the gpib most wont need it. But is is kind of cool. Carefull, Tek made the firmware on these pretty solid as far booting up at the end of the day goes. But this thread provides total access to the system. You can absolutely screw you system up to the brick state w/a key stroke. And beyond some mild hints, it probably wont help you repair your scope either.

Most everything, for this family of scopes, is now somewhere on the site. Or once was.

cap
Last edited by Guest on February 28th, 2014, 10:50 pm, edited 3 times in total.

sschnelle
Posts: 28
Joined: October 9th, 2009, 1:39 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by sschnelle » February 15th, 2013, 10:58 am

Cap,

i fully agree that most users with a working scope don't need this console port, and that this port is a really easy way to brick your scope (especially in combination with my self-written FW update tool ;) ). However, it helped me a lot this week while repairing a TDS724D: It was failing SPC, and the error log only said something like "cal measurement clipped 3 @ a001 or similar. The console port showed the following:

SPC failure to set Ch4 to 0.0010 V/div:

Excessive gain boost needed: 1.0082, at 20 MHz BW limit.

ERRORID: 211 Characterized values out of bounds Ax2 trigger gain
ERRORID: 110 Calibration failed Triggers
[00]

... which is much more readable. Tek gurus obviously only need the cryptic message to know what's going on.
Tek Equipment in USE: TDS794D, TLA7016, TLA7NA4, TLA7AA4

cap
Posts: 397
Joined: May 1st, 2009, 8:16 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by cap » February 15th, 2013, 12:49 pm

That would be the mild hint, i believe it was 0@ is CH1 and so on. But the console simply tells you. Not always the correct answer as the compensation signals go to all 4 channels, a bad attenuator can make other channels fail too. Often, if you run SPC 20 or 30 times you can get a consistent error, one that stands out.

With some versions of firmware, I have suspected, that gpib *cal? performs a better job of this than the normal invocation. It could be that I would loop this command and walk away and let it run for hours (to get a full error log), and that this excersised the relay contacts. But I have written simple relay excersising scripts with not as good of a results, but some change and I have not tried this on many scopes; not working on these much anymore. On some scopes, running the *cal? a bunch of times brought the scope to a state where I could not get it to fail SPC by any normal means.

Sometimes the relays fail at the physical solder contact to the ceramic/relay leg on the attenuator, simply reheat the joint...

On this family of scope (not TDS500A/TDS600A or earlier), typically and in order: An attenuator, Color Dispaly or Driver board, Power Supply is dead outright. Usually, if someone is talking about soldering on the acquisition board and it's not memory related...Oops, your screwing up! Of course you do look to see if someone else attempted such a "repair" or if there is physical damage.

On 600B's if they left capacitors off of the processor board I add them, they do help, not sure why but they don't hurt.

cap

rochoz
Posts: 90
Joined: October 8th, 2011, 9:55 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by rochoz » February 21st, 2013, 9:32 am

SSchnelle,

I just wanted to express my gratitude for your post - I found it very helpful. I have a TDS724A that had a very stubborn problem with the CPU board, but it was nearly impossible to debug without any clues. I have been looking for information on what this "console port" was for a long time, but never found out anything. I had seen snippets of debug information on this website and Tekscopes website, but never got enough info to be helpful.

I built your adapter just as you described and it worked perfectly....and it helped me find my difficult problem on my scope - it provided just enough of a hint that I was able to find the problem.

Much appreciated, thank you for the post!

Payload
Posts: 67
Joined: January 20th, 2011, 11:19 am

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by Payload » February 21st, 2013, 11:03 am

+1 on the thanks for this useful post. My 754D is supposed to have option 2M according to the sticker on the back, and it's got the hard disc fitted, but only shows option HD and won't let me select a record length above 50k. When I get time it looks like I might 'borrow' the RS232 module from the back and move it to the console connector as per your wiring.

I should probably back up my NVRAM one of these days too...

Watermelon
Posts: 5
Joined: February 22nd, 2013, 7:16 am

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by Watermelon » February 24th, 2013, 4:07 pm

Hi,

Is there any info about how this console port is formatted? Is it like plain ascii going over D24..D31?
I triggered a counter when R/Wn and CS are both low, it seems i got about 3k of data are being written to the console port when the scope is booting up and performing selftest. Don't have anything fast enough to actually transmit the data to the PC yet.
Does anybody has an idea what is actually inside this RS232/Centronics converter?

Regards,
Watermelon
Last edited by Guest on July 24th, 2013, 10:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Payload
Posts: 67
Joined: January 20th, 2011, 11:19 am

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by Payload » February 24th, 2013, 11:25 pm

If it's an MC68681, the data sheet is only a quick google away. I had a quick look at how else it might be possible to gain access to the port, and decided that although that old UART itself may be tricky to get hold of these days, a day with an FPGA dev board should yield useful results - provided you have FPGA design experience, of course. Another option might be something like a - with a parallel slave port, which would have the benefit that many of them contain a UART already.

Watermelon
Posts: 5
Joined: February 22nd, 2013, 7:16 am

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by Watermelon » February 25th, 2013, 1:44 am

I tried capturing the data with a 8 MHz clocked AVR, but it wasnt fast enough. Data was already gone when i was still putting old data in a buffer. Im having a go with a 80MHz clocked propellor proto board which can take data and send data simultaniously.
Does anyone have an example logging while booting the scope?

sschnelle
Posts: 28
Joined: October 9th, 2009, 1:39 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by sschnelle » February 25th, 2013, 1:59 am

See the second post in this thread for my example log. I would just buy an old 26681 DUART, or use the adapter i described. Using an uC for
capturing the bus traffic won't work because usually the uC isn't fast enough to keep up with the CPU. The other option would be to use an CPLD or FPGA, but that's overkill compared to just using the right DUART type.
Tek Equipment in USE: TDS794D, TLA7016, TLA7NA4, TLA7AA4

Payload
Posts: 67
Joined: January 20th, 2011, 11:19 am

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by Payload » February 25th, 2013, 6:25 am

Overkill in technical terms, perhaps, but not overly expensive. I have one of these:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Altera-Cyclon ... 2c5ac1d40e

... which should hook up quite easily to a connector, and should be easily capable of latching a few kB of data and buffering it.

Watermelon
Posts: 5
Joined: February 22nd, 2013, 7:16 am

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by Watermelon » March 7th, 2013, 9:36 am

Finally had some more time on my hand and finished the logging device.
Following is a logging when my TDS640 is booting up:
Start Power-On Diag Sequence
hwAccountant probe routines
Probe for unexpected pending ints
Dsp Instr mem size
Dsp D2 mem size
Dsp D1 mem size
Dsy Vect0 mem size
Dsy Vect1 mem size
Dsy Wfm0 mem size
Dsy Wfm1 mem size
Dsy Text0 mem size
Dsy Text1 mem size
Acq number of digitizers
Acq mem size
Cpu timer interval uSec
Cpu Dram size
NvRam mem size
dspForcedBus ................... pass
cpuDiagD2MiscReg ............... pass
cpuDiagDSPIntMaskReg ........... pass
cpuDiagDsyAccess ............... pass
dsp68kMemTest .................. pass
cpuDiagFIFOMem ................. pass
dspRunVerify ................... pass
dspBusRequestTest .............. pass
dspImplicitBusAccess ........... pass
dspTristarMemTest .............. pass
dsyDiagResetReg ................ pass
dsyDiagVscReg .................. pass
dsyDiagPPRegMem ................ pass
dsyDiagRasRegMem ............... pass
dsyDiagRegSelect ............... pass
dsyDiagRamdacRegMem ............ pass
dsyDiagAllMem .................. pass
dsySeqYTModeV0Intens ........... pass
dsyDiagSeqXYModeV1 ............. pass
dsyRastModeV0Walk .............. pass
dsyRastModeV1Attrib ............ pass
dsyWaitClock ................... pass
cpuDiagAllInts ................. pass
nvLibrariansDiag ............... pass
calLibrarianDefaultCk .......... pass
checkIfCalFailed ............... pass
dspForcedBus ................... pass
acqProcThermistor .............. pass
digRegisterDiag ................ pass
digAcqMemDataDiag .............. pass
digAcqMemAddrDiag .............. pass
digAcqMemPatDiag ............... pass
digTbcFisoCommDiag ............. pass
digFastFisoAcqDiag ............. pass
digDecimAcqDiag ................ pass
digShortPipeAcqDiag ............ pass
digPhaseLockLoopDiag ........... pass
digHeaterDiag .................. pass
digTbcDataRdbackDiag ........... pass
digTimingChainDiag ............. pass
digFisoShortPipeDiag ........... pass
digFisoCellDiag ................ pass
digA2DDiag ..................... pass
extTrigRegDiag ................. pass
vertRegDiag .................... pass
cvrRegDiag ..................... pass
trigSrcRegDiag ................. pass
lstlDiag ....................... pass
ctlDiag ........................ ***FAIL***
..error details:
ctlConfidenceDiag
** 2.50e-9 <= exp <= 1.20e-8 actual= 1.10e-10 delay TI failed
vertAttenStrobeDiag ............ pass
vertAttenShiftReg .............. pass
dacRangeDiag ................... pass
acqRampDiagAll ................. pass
fpDiagConf ..................... pass
hwAccountant probe routines
Probe for unexpected pending ints
Dsp Instr mem size
Dsp D2 mem size
Dsp D1 mem size
Dsy Vect0 mem size
Dsy Vect1 mem size
Dsy Wfm0 mem size
Dsy Wfm1 mem size
Dsy Text0 mem size
Dsy Text1 mem size
Acq number of digitizers
Acq mem size
Cpu timer interval uSec
Cpu Dram size
NvRam mem size
Should be something with the time interpolator...

Funny detail is that when SW1001 switches are set to "Expand error log and increase diag messages", the error logging at startup is actually decreased to show only:
ctlDiag ........................ ***FAIL***
I could not capture any logging when performing SPC which is failing.

ming
Posts: 7
Joined: October 25th, 2010, 4:35 pm

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by ming » March 24th, 2013, 5:26 pm

Hi All,

Is there an easy way to communicate with option RS232 just the S1001 switch setting to 0010 0000 or 0011 0000, it is possible to enter console service mode, but need the command usage is very very ... to us.

ming.

jayw_comark
Posts: 35
Joined: June 5th, 2012, 4:45 am
Country: United States

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by jayw_comark » March 25th, 2013, 4:56 am

sschnelle wrote:The console port uses 9600 Baud, 8N1 with RTS/CTS flow control.

Interesting commands on my TDS7xx scopes:

libManagerWordAtPut(0x50006, 1) <- Enable option 1M
libManagerWordAtPut(0x50007, 1) <- Enable option 05
libManagerWordAtPut(0x50008, 1) <- Enable option 13
libManagerWordAtPut(0x50009, 1) <- Enable option 2F
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000a, 1) <- Enable option 1F
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000c, 1) <- Enable option 2C
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000d, 1) <- Enable option 3C
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000e, 1) <- Enable option 4C
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000f, 1) <- Enable option 2M

Note that some options depends on hardware, and the offset might not be valid on all scope firmware versions. So backup you nvram first ;)
Hello sschnelle,

IF I wanted to do this without a console port cable or disturbing the Dallas 1486 data more than needed, do you know what the absolute offsets would be in the device?

nheng
Posts: 7
Joined: August 12th, 2012, 10:46 am

Re: Console port for TDS5/7xxD oscilloscopes

Post by nheng » March 26th, 2013, 1:31 pm

Hi Sschnelle,

Somewhat related to the last question. When looking at the locations in terms of absolute addresses, are they 16-bit or 8-bit? I see a block of mostly zeroes with some ones in an area I believe is close but there are zeroes between the ones values.

Thanks,
Den

Post Reply

Return to “Other or Discontinued Oscilloscopes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests