Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

TDS2024B vertical position isn't zero

Questions in this forum area are community supported. Tektronix does not regularly monitor posts in this area.
Post Reply
john song
Posts: 2
Joined: November 7th, 2018, 12:37 pm
Country: Canada

TDS2024B vertical position isn't zero

Post by john song » November 7th, 2018, 1:03 pm

The TDS2024B has the error between vertical position and voltage level. It's almost same in the center of vertical. There are big different on the top or bottom vertical. Please see the enclosed -. The self-calibration is failed in step 7. The probe doesn't connect anything. All of four channel have same issue. How can I eliminate this error. Thanks.
Attachments
939018316.jpg
939018316.jpg (149.6 KiB) Viewed 6239 times
599467128.jpg
599467128.jpg (139.69 KiB) Viewed 6239 times
313335582.jpg
313335582.jpg (138.14 KiB) Viewed 6239 times

David N
Tektronix Applications
Tektronix Applications
Posts: 558
Joined: July 31st, 2008, 8:26 am

Re: TDS2024B vertical position isn't zero

Post by David N » November 7th, 2018, 2:37 pm

When you run the "self calibration" has the scope been warmed up for 20 minutes or more? If yes, and it fails the self calibration, it most likely needs a complete instrument calibration to restore correct operation.

If you would like to have your unit calibrated, you can submit a request for service on Tek.com under the "Calibration & Services" tab and then click on "Request Repair Services" or call 1-800-835-9200 prompt 2.

john song
Posts: 2
Joined: November 7th, 2018, 12:37 pm
Country: Canada

Re: TDS2024B vertical position isn't zero

Post by john song » November 7th, 2018, 2:46 pm

Hi David,

Thanks for your reply. The scope has already warm up for 20 minutes.

I found another issue is that the waveform will have a lot noise when the horizontal is less than 250us when I connect probe to "Probe Comp". Please see the enclosed -. Can this issue also be solved by complete instrument calibration? Thanks.
Attachments
1469939734.jpg
1469939734.jpg (73.18 KiB) Viewed 6235 times
665752856.jpg
665752856.jpg (86.05 KiB) Viewed 6235 times

David N
Tektronix Applications
Tektronix Applications
Posts: 558
Joined: July 31st, 2008, 8:26 am

Re: TDS2024B vertical position isn't zero

Post by David N » November 7th, 2018, 4:03 pm

On my instrument going from 250us/div to 100us/div does show a bit more in noise, but that looks to excessive. It may be a h/w issue in the instrument vertical input. A calibration may resolve it. If not, then it is a h/w related issue and would need repair.

Post Reply

Return to “Other or Discontinued Oscilloscopes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests