Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

2215A Scope and Function Generator

Questions in this forum area are community supported. Tektronix does not regularly monitor or guarantee responses in this area.
LGLDSR73

2215A Scope and Function Generator

Post by LGLDSR73 » May 17th, 2012, 4:40 am

Greetings,

At the onset let me say that although I have 30 years of experience in Information Technology I am new to electronics. I know...extremely little at this point and even that may be giving myself too much credit. Having said that I am clearly on a beginners learning curve.

I recently purchased a Tektronix 2215A Scope and a refurbished BK-3011B Function Generator. Unfortunately I was wholly unaware that the BK-3011B was manufactured in 1991 and I paid $115 for it. In looking around last evening I came across a new Mastech SFG-1002 2 MHz Function Generator / Frequency Counter SFG-1002 for $109.00. I have no clue as to which is better or if for that matter the Mastech SFG-1002 Is 101% compatible with my scope. Would there be any limitations in using it with the 2215A?

I could use some serious guidance here and any input would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,

Lyman

Chris B
Tektronix Applications
Tektronix Applications

Re: 2215A Scope and Function Generator

Post by Chris B » May 17th, 2012, 7:50 am

I think either of these generators will work with your scope, per say. Now, most generators are designed to drive a 50 ohm load. If you are running directly into your scope, I believe it only as 1M termination? So, you would want to use a 50 ohm feed through terminator on the input of the scope, so that the amplitude you see on the scope matches what you set on the generator.

LGLDSR73

Post by LGLDSR73 » May 17th, 2012, 8:56 am