Page 1 of 1

TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: May 8th, 2018, 9:48 am
by Dave W
This is the official location for bug reports for TekScope Utility.

Please post your bug reports in this thread only.

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: July 12th, 2018, 3:32 am
by lars.winkelmann
Hi Dave,

hardcopy from TDS3000 over Ethernet produces a error
Fehlermeldung.png
error message
Fehlermeldung.png (35.55 KiB) Viewed 14931 times

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: July 12th, 2018, 3:48 am
by lars.winkelmann
Hi Dave,

it would be great to have a setting for the decimal separator independent of the local regional setting of windows
Trennzeichen.png
decimal separator
Trennzeichen.png (26.21 KiB) Viewed 14930 times

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: July 18th, 2018, 4:00 pm
by Dave W
Hi Lars,

Thank you for reporting those. I will take them into consideration for a future update. The decimal setting should hopefully be something I can take care of with some settings in the .NET framework. The TDS3000 Ethernet issue... that instrument over Ethernet has proven difficult. I'll see what I can do there. Highly recommend GPIB though with the TDS3000 if you have it available. It seems to "just work."

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: September 21st, 2018, 5:12 pm
by Dave W
Hi lars and everyone. I have a new build in the works (Sorry for the delay. I've been short on time) that will address the .CSV commas in the decimal place issue and will add MSO6 support. Don't think I'll get that TDS3000 Ethernet issue fixed though. I ran into similar trouble with the TDS3000 over Ethernet myself during development and could never quite get it to always work reliably. The TDS3000 is GREAT over GPIB, but Ethernet always seems troublesome.

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: September 28th, 2018, 1:29 am
by lars.winkelmann
That are good news, when can we expect the new verson?

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: September 28th, 2018, 9:59 am
by Dave W
Hi Lars. Other tasks have been preventing me from spending time on getting the release out. Check your PM though for a beta build.

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: October 4th, 2018, 9:30 am
by Dave W
Hi Lars,

I was able to look into your TDS3000 hard copy transfer issue yesterday. On a TDS3054C the image transfer over Ethernet worked just fine. Then I noticed you were using a B model. I managed to find a TDS3054B and try it and I saw the same issue as you. Following the IO Trace I could see that the issue was that the scope was only outputting a null byte in response to the HARDCopy START command, rather than the image. I have no idea why it does this. Guess it's a bug that was fixed in the C model? Anyway, it took a little while to figure out how to get it to send out an image over the Ethernet connection, but what I ended up having to do is change the HARDCopy:FORMat from PNG to BMPColor and now it works. It has to transfer many more bytes now, but this does seem to fix it so your hardcopy issue will be gone in the next release.

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: July 4th, 2019, 1:19 am
by stjude1982
Hi,

Recently downloaded the TekScope Utility software for use on our MSO58 scopes.
I connected this up by USB and everything was fine - we were able to take screenshots as required etc.

However, the software is no longer connecting to our scope.

There is an error message as follows:

"The resource is valid, but VISA cannot currently access it."

Can you help to get this back up and running, please?

Regards,

Stephen

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: July 5th, 2019, 3:20 am
by stjude1982
Wondering if the issue for this is in set-up?

The software does not seem to recognise the scope at all:

What should following options be set to:

Baud rate; Data Bits; Stop Bits; Parity; Flow Control?

Ps- Our MSO58 is updated with latest firmware V 1.16.6

Can't say for sure if I had this working prior to, or after the firmware update

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: July 8th, 2019, 9:40 am
by Dave W
Hi stjude1982,

The Serial settings (Data Bits, Stop Bits, etc...) are only relevant to serial COM port connections (i.e. RS-232) so these do not affect USB connections.

The message you saw, "The resource is valid, but VISA cannot currently access it.," is a VISA error and not a TekScope Utility error. It is indicating that VISA cannot access the scope. What the error sounds like is that there is an issue with the USB connections that is preventing VISA from accessing it. If you have an open USB connection to the scope in another piece of software (such as the VISA interactive utility) this could be the cause of the issue.

If you could capture a trace of the communication between the program and the scope using the IO Trace utility, I could take a look at it and see if I see anything weird going on there. Start the IO Trace utility capturing before you plug the scope in all the way until you see the error in TekScope Utility and I can follow it and try to figure out what is going on.

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: January 28th, 2020, 1:34 pm
by MiMatt
Good Day,

again, I am very happy with the TekScope utility per my other posting.

Just one minor bug: When capturing Waveforms from my MSO2024, the colours for channel 1 and channel 2 are swapped vs. the original colours on the device itself i.e. CH1 is blue, CH2 is yellow. Original colours are CH1 is yellow, CH2 is blue.

Cheers,

MiMatt

Re: TekScope Utility Bug Reports

Posted: January 31st, 2020, 4:38 pm
by Dave W
Hi MiMatt,

The colors of the waveforms on the Waveform tab of TekScope Utility are assigned automatically by the Microsoft Chart control. This is why they don't match. I could tweak the code to explicitly assign them colors to match the scope. Something for me to consider for next release.