Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

use 2701 multimeter and excellink to record the current

Post Reply
janesong
Posts: 12
Joined: July 21st, 2014, 10:06 am
Country: United States

use 2701 multimeter and excellink to record the current

Post by janesong » December 29th, 2015, 2:29 pm

Hi
My system is microbial fuel cell. I try to measure the current by the multimeter, but it came out error -222. I don't know how to solve this.

Thanks,
Jane

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2840
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: use 2701 multimeter and excellink to record the current

Post by Dale C » December 30th, 2015, 5:39 am

Which switching card are you using?
If it is the 7700 or 7702 then use the current channels. for 7700 they are channels 21 and 22. On the 7702 they are 41 and 42.
If not using one of these cards then use a current shunt on the channel you are using.
Then use the MATH function (MX +B) for each channel you have a shunt.
For example, use a 1k shunt, measure 1mA, this is 1V, So use MX +B where M = .001 and B= 0.
then it will be a current value...
Hope this helps.

janesong
Posts: 12
Joined: July 21st, 2014, 10:06 am
Country: United States

Re: use 2701 multimeter and excellink to record the current

Post by janesong » December 30th, 2015, 10:17 am

Thanks for your kind reply.
My model is 7700. So I should use the channel 21 and 22. Then the other set up in the excel link should be similar with the voltage, right?

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2840
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: use 2701 multimeter and excellink to record the current

Post by Dale C » December 31st, 2015, 5:31 am

That is correct.

janesong
Posts: 12
Joined: July 21st, 2014, 10:06 am
Country: United States

Re: use 2701 multimeter and excellink to record the current

Post by janesong » January 6th, 2016, 2:51 pm

Thank you very much!
The other thing I want to ask is whether I can measure the same cell current and voltage by two different channels at same time.

Thanks again

Joseph V
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 107
Joined: July 1st, 2014, 10:31 am
Country: United States

Re: use 2701 multimeter and excellink to record the current

Post by Joseph V » January 7th, 2016, 6:39 am

The 2701 can only take measurements from one channel at a time. You can measure both channels sequentially though.

janesong
Posts: 12
Joined: July 21st, 2014, 10:06 am
Country: United States

Re: use 2701 multimeter and excellink to record the current

Post by janesong » January 7th, 2016, 7:07 am

Can I connect two channel with the same cell? I want to measure my cell current and voltage. Thanks!

janesong
Posts: 12
Joined: July 21st, 2014, 10:06 am
Country: United States

Re: use 2701 multimeter and excellink to record the current

Post by janesong » January 12th, 2016, 8:14 am

Hi
I really want to know whether I can connect the same cell with two channel, one for measuring current, one for measuring voltage. Will it make any damage to the multimeter or the cell

Post Reply

Return to “Series 2700 Multimeter/Data Aquisition/Switch System”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests