Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post Reply
simmconn
Posts: 2
Joined: August 19th, 2017, 10:36 pm
Country: United States

HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by simmconn » August 19th, 2017, 10:45 pm

I have a Keithley 2701 Ethernet multimeter/data acquisition system with firmware version B0x which was working okay. I downloaded the Keithley FlashWizard32 C12 and 2701 firmware D05 package from Tektronix website. The FlashWizard32 found the 2701 on the Ethernet and the updating process completed without error. However the 2701 unit restarts with 'FPGA TIMEOUT' on the screen. At this point the unit is still able to flash through the RS-232, which I did. The updating took about 7 minutes and the result is the same.

I'm wondering if anyone tried the 2701 firmware D05 package from Tektronix website with success.

The FlashWizard32 will not allow downgrade, and the direct links to the older firmware no longer work (they landed on the Product Support and Downloads search page).

Thanks in advance!

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 413
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by Stuart M » August 22nd, 2017, 8:26 am

Our apologies for this unfortunate experience.
It seems that the D firmware is not for older units with A/B/C firmware and should have been marked as such.
Sending you a private message now to help correct your situation.
Will correct the firmware posting too.

simmconn
Posts: 2
Joined: August 19th, 2017, 10:36 pm
Country: United States

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by simmconn » August 22nd, 2017, 12:46 pm

Hi Stuart,
Thanks so much for the reply. I'm too new on this forum to send or reply to PM. I sent you a direct email.

-Xu

Ruth2701
Posts: 1
Joined: November 1st, 2017, 6:07 pm
Country: Australia

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by Ruth2701 » November 1st, 2017, 6:11 pm

Stuart M,
I have had this same problem how do I fix it?

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 413
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by Stuart M » November 2nd, 2017, 6:27 am

Help is one the way.
Sending you a private message now...

Shawn Tan
Posts: 2
Joined: August 6th, 2018, 11:41 am
Country: Canada

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by Shawn Tan » August 6th, 2018, 11:47 am

Hi Stuart M,

I ran into the same problem. Is there a solution now?

Thanks

Shawn

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 413
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by Stuart M » August 6th, 2018, 12:06 pm

My apology for this experience.
Since the original occurrence we have updated our firmware descriptions - to try prevent any confusion:

D firmware applies to units with D firmware only.
Do not attempt to upgrade units with older A, B or C firmware.

B firmware applies to units with version B firmware only
Do not install on instruments with version A, C or D firmware.

The good news is that we can get your unit back to your previous firmware version.
I will send you a private message with the procedure.

Shawn Tan
Posts: 2
Joined: August 6th, 2018, 11:41 am
Country: Canada

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by Shawn Tan » August 8th, 2018, 1:41 pm

Hi Stuart,

Thanks for your replay. I couldn't reply to your PM so I'll just post here. I've successfully downgraded it back to firmware B03. However, I still have a problem.

The reason I was looking for a firmware upgrade is that I hooked the multimeter up to a computer via ethernet cable directly, but when I try to configure it in LabVIEW using NI MAX under the "Network Devices", it cannot be found. I pinged the IP address in cmd and it responded. Then I go to the IP address using a browser, the information page popped up just fine. So can you help me figure out my problem here?

Best Regards,

Shawn

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 413
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by Stuart M » August 9th, 2018, 8:37 am

The model 2701 is not discover-able using mdns.
If you can ping it (and also open its' webpage using the ip address) that's a good start.

For LabVIEW to work try to see if NI-VISA finds the instrument--
Open NI-VISA Interactive control.
At the bottom of the window, enter the following in the Resource to Open field and then press <Enter>:
TCPIP::ww.xxx.yyy.zzz::1394::SOCKET
(where ww.xxx.yyy.zzz is the ip address of your instrument)
If the resource opens, then go ahead and use the same resource with LabVIEW.

[email protected]
Posts: 2
Joined: July 29th, 2018, 3:37 am
Country: Germany

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by [email protected] » September 1st, 2018, 8:47 am

Hi,

my unit is also bricked.
Please send me a pm with the recovery procedure.

best regards

Stephan

[email protected]
Posts: 2
Joined: July 29th, 2018, 3:37 am
Country: Germany

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by [email protected] » October 7th, 2018, 9:02 am

HI,

thank for the mail.
But the link to the B03 firmware is broken.

br

Stephan

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 413
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: HELP! Keithley 2701 bricked after upgrading firmware to D05

Post by Stuart M » October 8th, 2018, 6:19 am

Stephan,
Apologies, it seems the tek website was undergoing changes last week.
The link to 2701 B03 firmware should be good now:
https://www.tek.com/switching-and-data/ ... vision-b03

regards,
--Stuart

Post Reply

Return to “Series 2700 Multimeter/Data Aquisition/Switch System”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests