Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

2701 Multimeter Ethernet Issue

Post Reply
tobypendom
Posts: 4
Joined: March 28th, 2018, 8:26 pm
Country: China

2701 Multimeter Ethernet Issue

Post by tobypendom » March 29th, 2018, 12:54 am

Hello Darling

We got a strange problem when we are try to use the 2701 meter with Ethernet. 32bit Windows XP, we installed Kickstart1.7.1, we set the IP per the instrument manual, but the Kickstart cannot found the instrument anyway. I tried many man times, re-install laptop windows system, update the VISA run-engine to 15.5, still failed, there is no NI-MAX in the laptop, I cannot check the condition by it.
What's more, I used another laptop to tried again, only IP:192.168.0.2 could be found sucesfully, the others I tried were all failed. I attached some data FYI.

looking for your reply, it got me down for several weeks. :shock:
Attachments
2018_3_29_14_49_17.txt
(1.73 KiB) Downloaded 573 times
2018_3_28_16_46_35.txt
(1.51 KiB) Downloaded 564 times
2701keithley issue.xlsx
(1.27 MiB) Downloaded 566 times

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 418
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: 2701 Multimeter Ethernet Issue

Post by Stuart M » March 29th, 2018, 12:04 pm

When attempting to use the Model 2701 with KickStart 1.7 it has to be added in a specific way as follows:
1. Click on the Instruments tab
2. Click on the IP Address and enter the IP address of the 2701
3. Click on the Port and select 1394
4. Click on the Add (+) button
5. Click the box Discover Ethernet Instruments to set it to checked/ON
6. Click the Refresh Instrument Discovery button
....wait for discovery to complete
....Model 2701 will appear in the Instrument Configuration list if detected
AddingModel2701toKickStart1.7.JPG
AddingModel2701toKickStart1.7.JPG (59.61 KiB) Viewed 11037 times

tobypendom
Posts: 4
Joined: March 28th, 2018, 8:26 pm
Country: China

Re: 2701 Multimeter Ethernet Issue

Post by tobypendom » March 29th, 2018, 5:35 pm

Hi Stuart,

Appreciate for your reply! Yes I did, the procedure you showed has been repeated for many many times. The result is the same, Kickstart cannot detected the instrument. You can see the attachments I sent last time. The log txt is below:
VISA returned the following resources:
ASRL10::INSTR


Ethernet discovery is enabled so checking if any IP addresses added manually
Manually added Ethernet device: TCPIP0::192.168.110.002::INSTR

Trying to connect to Visa Resource: ASRL10::INSTR
Failed to connect to Visa Resource: ASRL10::INSTR - error: HRESULT = 80040011

Trying to connect to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.110.002::INSTR
Failed to connect to Visa Resource: TCPIP0::192.168.110.002::INSTR - error: HRESULT = 80040011

Done with identifying VISA resources
Added simulation device: SMU Simulator
Added simulation device: DAQ Simulator
Added simulation device: DMM Simulator

Checking if KickStart has a instrument plugin for all the devices found and if so loading them
A driver was found and loaded for VISA resource: SMU_SIMULATION which is a model: MODEL SMU_SIMULATOR
No TSPLink instruments were detected for this VISA resource: SMU_SIMULATION
VISA resource: SMU_SIMULATION which is a model: MODEL SMU_SIMULATOR and in the KickStart list of available instruments will be indentified as: SMU Simulator

A driver was found and loaded for VISA resource: DAQ_SIMULATION which is a model: MODEL DAQ_SIMULATOR
No TSPLink instruments were detected for this VISA resource: DAQ_SIMULATION
VISA resource: DAQ_SIMULATION which is a model: MODEL DAQ_SIMULATOR and in the KickStart list of available instruments will be indentified as: DAQ Simulator

A driver was found and loaded for VISA resource: DMM_SIMULATION which is a model: MODEL DMM_SIMULATOR
No TSPLink instruments were detected for this VISA resource: DMM_SIMULATION
VISA resource: DMM_SIMULATION which is a model: MODEL DMM_SIMULATOR and in the KickStart list of available instruments will be indentified as: DMM Simulator

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 418
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: 2701 Multimeter Ethernet Issue

Post by Stuart M » March 30th, 2018, 8:51 am

You need to remove the entry that you created in KickStart and make a new one using 1394 for the port.
The one you created is using INSTR and not 1394.

If done correctly you should be adding this resource in the C:\Documents and Settings\<yourLoginName>\My Documents\Keithley Instruments\KickStart\Log\<today'sDate> file.

Here is what your system is doing:
Ethernet discovery is enabled so checking if any IP addresses added manually
Manually added Ethernet device: TCPIP0::192.168.110.002::INSTR <-- this is not 1394 port...this is INSTR

Here is what my system is doing using 1394 port:
Ethernet discovery is enabled so checking if any IP addresses added manually
Manually added Ethernet device: TCPIP0::10.250.140.201::1394::SOCKET <-- this is the correct visa resource

Here is how to remove an IP address from KickStart:
Open KickStart and go to the Legacy Ethernet Instruments area.
Enter the IP address for your instrument. It will likely show the Port as VXI-11.
Then press the REMOVE button.
Click on the IP Address dropdown and confirm that no other entries exist...if there are others, remove them too if they apply to this situation.
Next, re-enter the IP address for your instrument and select 1394 for the port and press the Add (+) button.
Press Refresh Instrument Discovery...your 2701 should be detected.

tobypendom
Posts: 4
Joined: March 28th, 2018, 8:26 pm
Country: China

Re: 2701 Multimeter Ethernet Issue

Post by tobypendom » April 8th, 2018, 1:40 am

Hello Stuart,

Thanks so much for your proposal, we tried recently, but it seems still failed, I'm confused completely, please see the attached summary.

Looking for your reply! :)
Attachments
2701keithley issue update20180408.pptx
(490.93 KiB) Downloaded 546 times

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 418
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: 2701 Multimeter Ethernet Issue

Post by Stuart M » April 9th, 2018, 4:35 pm

I have attached instructions for adding your model 2701 to KickStart.
Hope this helps...(see attached)
Attachments
Add_Model_2701_to_KickStart.pptx
(89.77 KiB) Downloaded 544 times

tobypendom
Posts: 4
Joined: March 28th, 2018, 8:26 pm
Country: China

Re: 2701 Multimeter Ethernet Issue

Post by tobypendom » April 9th, 2018, 8:43 pm

Hello Stuart,

Thanks for your reply, I did several times, per your method.But it is not work at all. Actually, I tried many times previously. Is there any other possibility please?

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 418
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: 2701 Multimeter Ethernet Issue

Post by Stuart M » April 10th, 2018, 10:43 am

Looking at your last log file it appeared that you were still using the wrong setup.
Please make the changes i requested to delete all the old and incorrect ip addresses and then configure the one entry I detailed. Then...

Send me the following:
1. Take a - within KickStart of all the entries in the dropdown for the ip address. click on each entry and take a - so that i can see how each entry is configured.
2. What is the ip address of your instrument? can you still ping the instrument?
3. Can you open kickstart with your 2701 connected and run a discovery and send me the latest txt file from your setup?

thanks...

Post Reply

Return to “Series 2700 Multimeter/Data Aquisition/Switch System”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest