Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

Web interface to 3706A

Post Reply
xyz6692
Posts: 6
Joined: March 1st, 2016, 10:45 pm
Country: United States

Web interface to 3706A

Post by xyz6692 » March 7th, 2016, 11:57 am

Hi All,

I successfully upgraded my 3706A to the latest firmware version 1.53C.

Both my Mac and PC runs the latest Java 8 Update 73.

Regardless what browser I used, I could see the home and LXI pages, but I got a blank page when I clicked the links to my installed cards.

What version of Java do I have to reverse back on my laptops in order to web browse the cards in my 3706A?

Regards,

F

xyz6692
Posts: 6
Joined: March 1st, 2016, 10:45 pm
Country: United States

Re: Web interface to 3706A

Post by xyz6692 » March 7th, 2016, 10:20 pm

Hi All,

It turned out that I was able to web-interface my 3706A only with Explorer and Java 8 Update 73 on PC of Windows 7. I could open all the pages and operate DMM and relays on installed cards.

The web-interface failed with Chrome on the same PC, the latest Firefox v44, and Safari 9.0.3 on Mac of the latest OS 10.11.3. I could only see the pages of Home, Admin, and LXI.

F

Kenneth P
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 212
Joined: October 25th, 2010, 1:31 pm
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Web interface to 3706A

Post by Kenneth P » March 9th, 2016, 8:35 am

Glad to hear that you were able to resolve your problem. Commonly, there may be a security issue with Java and the browser. In addition to browser differences, Web security software may also block the Java applications that support the web page interface of the 3706A. In some cases, it was necessary to revert to Java version 6.

xyz6692
Posts: 6
Joined: March 1st, 2016, 10:45 pm
Country: United States

Re: Web interface to 3706A

Post by xyz6692 » March 11th, 2016, 11:57 am

A warning dialog will popup when it is the security that blocks a Java applet.

When I tried to access the cards using Chrome on PC, I got
"Need to install and enable Java Plug-in Version 6 or above.
Click to install latest Java"

I just ran the Java 8 Update 73 to control CryoCon 24C and Agilent N6700A. So the problem couldn't be the Java and Browser, but Keithley 3706A.

When I tried to access the cards using either Safari or Firefox on Mac, I got a blank without any security warning.

I can control CryoCon 24C and Agilent N6700A using Safari and Firefox on the same Mac. So the problem couldn't be the Java and Browser, but Keithley 3706A.

Conclusion: The problem I investigated is not due to the security. Keithley needs to look into its own applet source code in 3706A.

jaime_g
Posts: 93
Joined: September 23rd, 2014, 6:14 am
Country: United States

Re: Web interface to 3706A

Post by jaime_g » September 15th, 2016, 9:26 am

Hi xyz6692 and Kenneth,

I have three 3706s and cannot access the cards because of the "Application is Blocked by Java Security".
I am running the 3706 browser from a Lenovo ThinkPad laptop with Windows 7 Pro, IE 11 and Java 8 Update 101.

I would appreciate any suggestions to overcome this obstacle.

Regards,
Jaime Arevalo

jaime_g
Posts: 93
Joined: September 23rd, 2014, 6:14 am
Country: United States

Web interface to 3706 & 3706A

Post by jaime_g » September 15th, 2016, 10:16 am

Kenneth and xys6692,

I have a solution to Java blocking the 3706/3706A browser. It is simple, in the Java Control Panel modify the security level from Very High to High or/and add the IP address of the 3706/3706A to the Exception Site List. See enclosed WORD file.

Regards,

Jaime Arevalo
Attachments
How to disable Java in web browser.docx
(710.01 KiB) Downloaded 1207 times

Post Reply

Return to “Series 3700 Switch System/Multimeter and Plug-In Cards”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests