Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

Routing current from analog output (3750) to measure terminals DMM (3706A)

Post Reply
Tomislav
Posts: 9
Joined: January 31st, 2017, 2:39 am
Country: Austria

Routing current from analog output (3750) to measure terminals DMM (3706A)

Post by Tomislav » March 7th, 2017, 1:17 am

Hi, I am using Keithley 3706A and 3750 multifunctional card.

I would like to route curent signal from channel 10 of 3750 multifunctional card to
measure terminals of DMM. Therefore, six backplane relays are available. First two
can be used for 2w or 4w ohm resistance measurement. So I would use backplane relay from
3. till 6.. So my question is how to connect AMP HI and LO input with Analog backplane relay?

Thanks

Andrea C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 1323
Joined: October 15th, 2010, 10:35 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Routing current from analog output (3750) to measure terminals DMM (3706A)

Post by Andrea C » March 7th, 2017, 6:36 am

The model 3750 card has digital IO, analog output or counter channels.
None of these channel types are internally routed to the 3706A backplane channels for measurement by the DMM.
Question: are you trying to measure the current of a signal that is connected to one of the digital IO (channel 10)?
The DB15 connector on the back of the 3706A has access to the backplane and the DMM inputs such as AMP and AMP-LO.
See Figure 17 in the 3706A Reference manual.

Tomislav
Posts: 9
Joined: January 31st, 2017, 2:39 am
Country: Austria

Re: Routing current from analog output (3750) to measure terminals DMM (3706A)

Post by Tomislav » March 8th, 2017, 2:52 am

Hi Andrea,

Thanks for reply,

Yes, I would like to measure current coming from channel 10 (analog output) of 3750 card with DMM.
If I have understand it well, I could do it by wiring CH 10 Iout to pin 10 (AMP) and Icom to pin 9 (AMP-LO) of analog backplane connector. Should I then use dmm.func = "dccurrent" function to check value of current?

I have also installed 3730 matrix card, so I need to apply that current (CH 10, 3750) to channel of matrix card.
My question is how is it possible to achieve signal routing connection between multifunctional card and matrix card (both are installed in 3706A)?

Thank you

Post Reply

Return to “Series 3700 Switch System/Multimeter and Plug-In Cards”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests