Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

Excel Linx Issue

Post Reply
jokela
Posts: 5
Joined: September 10th, 2013, 8:58 am
Country: United States

Excel Linx Issue

Post by jokela » September 10th, 2013, 9:59 am

Excel Linx was working fine until I powered down the the 2701. Once I powered up again The scan and configure tabs say "Connection for the given session has been lost. Attribute: KE2700_ATTR_Front_Panel_Lockout"

How do I fix this?

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2849
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Excel Linx Issue

Post by Dale C » September 10th, 2013, 11:06 am

Could be any one of a number of things.
1. Power down the 2701 and close Excel.
2. Power up the 2701 and when it is ready, open Excel.
3. Now try again with the same address in Line 12 in the DMM CONFIG sheet.
If this does not work then
1. Launch Keithley Configuration Panel.
2. Launch the Set Up Wizard.
3. Follow the prompts in the Wizard to "Test" the device you had working before.
If this does not work then
1. Launch Keithley Configuration Panel.
2. Launch the Set Up Wizard.
3. Select ADD and add a new device. Follow the prompts to do this.

jokela
Posts: 5
Joined: September 10th, 2013, 8:58 am
Country: United States

Re: Excel Linx Issue

Post by jokela » September 10th, 2013, 11:11 am

I worked through your list and am at the point where I'm going to add a new device, what am I adding?

jokela
Posts: 5
Joined: September 10th, 2013, 8:58 am
Country: United States

Re: Excel Linx Issue

Post by jokela » September 10th, 2013, 12:58 pm

This is what I am seeing within the Excel Linx when I try to start the config. or scan tab? This happened after I powered down the 2701................seems to me this happened one other time before but can't put my finger on it. Iv'e verified in the Keithley Comminactor that it recognizes the 2701 as I typed in *IDN? and it listed the the 2701.........

I have also tryed reinstalling the Keithley like you siad but no luck...........what is the next step?
Attachments
Front Panel Lockout Issue.docx
(112.42 KiB) Downloaded 1559 times

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2849
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Excel Linx Issue

Post by Dale C » September 10th, 2013, 1:23 pm

Are you using ethernet or RS-232?
I thought you were using RS-232.
With Ethernet you can talk to the instrument through the internal web site.
Just go to your internet browser(IE, CHrome, etc.) and type in the proper IP address.
Does this work?
If so, then it is something in the Excelinx/KI CONFIG PANEL set up.

jokela
Posts: 5
Joined: September 10th, 2013, 8:58 am
Country: United States

Re: Excel Linx Issue

Post by jokela » September 11th, 2013, 6:57 am

I am connected via ethernet (Pc to 2701) and yes, I just verified that the 2701 IP works -. I'm kind of leaning towards Excel Linx issue also.............what next?

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2849
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: Excel Linx Issue

Post by Dale C » September 11th, 2013, 1:12 pm

Try rebooting the computer and Model 2701 and starting again...

Stuart M
Keithley
Keithley
Posts: 426
Joined: September 22nd, 2010, 1:42 pm
Country: United States

Re: Excel Linx Issue

Post by Stuart M » September 11th, 2013, 1:51 pm

Anytime time the 2701 power is recycled during an ExceLINX session causes the session to be invalid.
Any number of errors, including Front Panel Lockout could occur.

The question is has your 2701 changed its ethernet settings?
Is the 2701 at the same ip address as listed in excelinx and the keithley configuration panel?
Is the gateway also at the same address as configured?
Is DHCP on or off?

If your settings have changed, then I would change them back to match what you started with...if your settings have changed, then follow the steps that were suggested to add a new instrument:
1. Launch Keithley Configuration Panel.
2. Launch the Set Up Wizard.
3. Select ADD and press <next>
4. Select ethernet and press <next>
5. Select tcpip instrument and press <next>
6. Enter the ip address in the top line and enter 1394 in the socket address for the 2nd line, then press <next>
7. Press <next> and if successful press <finish>
8. Exit the wizard
9. Exit the application and save your changes.
10. Open ExceLINX and attempt to use with your newly added instrument

If still having problems, please give us a call and we'll troubleshoot this further...

Post Reply

Return to “Other Keithley Instrument Products”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests