Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

Problem with 6220

6220, 6221 Current Sources
Post Reply
nickwinz
Posts: 1
Joined: January 25th, 2013, 12:39 am
Country: Germany

Problem with 6220

Post by nickwinz » January 25th, 2013, 12:43 am

We recently purchased a Keithley 6220 to perform electrochemical measurements. The unit was used for about one week to provide a constant current of 50mA (about 3V load) between the low and high terminals of the triax cable. A simple bridge was used to connect the two terminals on the interlock. Since yesterday the unit could no longer be switched on. The fuse seems intact. Is this a problem with the device or has it somehow been overloaded?

Jane S
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 114
Joined: November 10th, 2010, 5:45 pm
Country: United States

Re: Problem with 6220

Post by Jane S » January 25th, 2013, 11:25 am

Hello,
It is an unfortunate event. It is highly unlikely that the system oveloaded at 50 mA considering you used 100 mA range. The max output power specs of the unit is 11W with voltage compliance limit of 0.1V to 105V. Again I am assuming you used compliance when you used the unit.

I think that it is best for you to send the unit to your nearest service center rather than guessing or even trying to fix a unit that will not turn ON. If you are in doubt that the fuse is good, try to replace the fuse. If after replacing the fuse and it is still dead. Send the unit for service.

I hope this helps.

pvrkaranth
Posts: 2
Joined: September 14th, 2014, 11:54 pm
Country: India

Re: Problem with 6220

Post by pvrkaranth » September 25th, 2014, 9:45 pm

Dear all
I have a problem with my 6220 current source. The problem is front panel is very slow: when I press a key (any of them), it takes 5-10 seconds before any change on the display, after the bip.
Does anyone of you already noticed this kind of problem ? What is the reason and solution for this.

The other critical problem is, when I want to send an current in any sample or circuit, the blue light turns on and after few seconds, off (which means no current is produced) and I get the error message:
Error Message ID code 402. Interlock blocked.
But the user/Reference manual does not help me in understanding this.
Please help me in resolving this.

Joseph V
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 107
Joined: July 1st, 2014, 10:31 am
Country: United States

Re: Problem with 6220

Post by Joseph V » September 26th, 2014, 6:29 am

With regards to the front panel beings slow the unit may need to come in for service.

Error 402 is stating that the interlock of the instrument is open and as such will not output any current. To be able to turn the output on you must first close the interlock, a diagram can be viewed in the user manual on page 2-4.

marcosb
Posts: 3
Joined: June 22nd, 2017, 4:27 am
Country: Argentina

Re: Problem with 6220

Post by marcosb » September 6th, 2017, 11:49 am

Dear All,

I have the same problem, my Keithley 6220 is working very slow. In addition, the error 402 appears when the ouput is activated and with the interlock well connected.
Please, is any other solution rather to send to the factory?

Thank you,
Marcos

marcosb
Posts: 3
Joined: June 22nd, 2017, 4:27 am
Country: Argentina

Re: Problem with 6220

Post by marcosb » September 11th, 2017, 10:03 am

Dear All,

I found an unsoldered capacitor in the board, C287, it is solder just in one side. Please see the photo.
This capacitor could generate the problem described in the previus post?

Regards,
Marcos
Attachments
IMG_20170911_130108605.gif
IMG_20170911_130108605.gif (1.4 MiB) Viewed 15418 times

Post Reply

Return to “Current Sources”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests