Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

Materials Characterization Assistance

boyerma

Materials Characterization Assistance

Post by boyerma » December 29th, 2014, 4:54 am

My name is Mike Boyer. I am a teacher at North Penn High School in Lansdale, PA. My students and I need help with electrical characterization and hope you can help us.

Do you have suggestions for meters and test equipment regarding the electrical characterization of conductive nanofiber mats (polyaniline nanofibers and high temperature superconductive nanofibers), spin coated thin films, piezoelectric nanofibers and dye sensitized solar cell performance? I was fortunate to have won a grant to help acquire better equipment to characterize the work my students are performing and I need assistance in determining the best equipment and processes. We know that we won’t be able to afford everything but hope we can find a meter(s) and apparatus(s) that can serve multiple purposes…

I teach an engineering research and development course to high school seniors and the focus of their research has been primarily on the functionalization of polymer nanofibers for healthcare, energy and environmental issues. Each year, the students’ research endeavors grow in complexity. We are currently utilizing low quality, hand held digital multimeters and a Lab Volt Laboratory Instrument System (Analog Milliammeters and 2-20VDC Power supply) to try and characterize our work.