Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Questions in this forum area are community supported. Tektronix does not regularly monitor posts in this area.
Post Reply
charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » January 24th, 2016, 3:13 am

hello i bought a TDS754D last week and was curious if anybody can give me some hints before i start opening it and work on it. ( in the passed i did a recap of a TDS544A so i am not all new). i did some research already and think that my probem lies in Board A11 CPU/DRAM board. Are there things i shouldn t do, or be aware of. ( i mean in direction of nvram). i saw people writing about trying to read and save the nvram.

i dont want to calibrate the unit if i can avoid it.

i hope for some starting tips.

jayw_comark
Posts: 36
Joined: June 5th, 2012, 4:45 am
Country: United States

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by jayw_comark » January 29th, 2016, 3:31 am

charlyd wrote:hello i bought a TDS754D last week and was curious if anybody can give me some hints before i start opening it and work on it. ( in the passed i did a recap of a TDS544A so i am not all new). i did some research already and think that my probem lies in Board A11 CPU/DRAM board. Are there things i shouldn t do, or be aware of. ( i mean in direction of nvram). i saw people writing about trying to read and save the nvram.

i dont want to calibrate the unit if i can avoid it.

i hope for some starting tips.
Take a look in the error logs to get the details of the failure. The only calibration stored on the CPU board is SPC. The calibration data is stored in two small serial PROMs on the ACQ board.
Jay

charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » January 30th, 2016, 11:06 am

hi i am preparing the console port todo a totall debug on the unit. meanwhile i did a quick errorlog look and saw something like NV storage full? or something.

i can have an other look what is say so you can tell me more. before i finish the console port debugging.
while booting i watched the display and at the end the outsigments are jumping ( the top and bottom segment ) from the "8".

does anybody know what the exact diagnostic is from the display and the layout from all the dipswitches

hope you can help me out.
Last edited by charlyd on October 25th, 2017, 1:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » February 1st, 2016, 4:50 am

the error log in the scope says:

Fatal ERROR 250 NV storage too small. .any hints?

jayw_comark
Posts: 36
Joined: June 5th, 2012, 4:45 am
Country: United States

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by jayw_comark » February 3rd, 2016, 3:50 am

charlyd wrote:the error log in the scope says:

Fatal ERROR 250 NV storage too small. .any hints?
That's an odd one. Perhaps the error logs are full?
Send err cle to the scope via GPIB, verify that the error logs are empty, then run a full self test from the utility menu.

Jay

charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » February 3rd, 2016, 12:43 pm

Terminal log file
Date: 2-2-16 - 21:50:49
-----------------------------------------------
o PCMCIA option board detected.

FLOPPY: Detected


Adding 7165 symbols for standalone.



CPU: 68EC040. Processor #0.

Memory Size: 0x1000000. BSP version 1.0.


Executing Diagnostics

-> small more bytes requested than available
Start Power-On Diag Sequence
hwAccountant probe routines
Probe for unexpected pending ints
Dsp Instr mem size
Dsp D2 mem size
Dsp D1 mem size
Dsy Vect0 mem size
Dsy Vect1 mem size
Dsy Wfm0 mem size
Dsy Wfm1 mem size
Dsy Text0 mem size
Dsy Text1 mem size
Acq number of digitizers
Acq mem size
Cpu timer interval uSec
Cpu Dram size
NvRam mem size
Limit to 1GS/sec presence
Opt Math Package presence
Opt Telecom Masks presence
Opt 3C presence
Opt 4C presence
Opt RS232/ Cent presence
Opt 1M presence
Opt 2M presence
Acq Intlv Cal Id presence
Opt TvTrig presence
Opt TvTrig index
Dsy color presence
Opt floppy drive presence
Opt hard drive presence
Acq number of user channels
dspForcedBus ................... pass
cpuDiagD2MiscReg ............... pass
cpuDiagDSPIntMaskReg ........... pass
cpuDiagDsyAccess ............... pass
dsp68kMemTest .................. pass
cpuDiagFIFOMem ................. pass
dspRunVerify ................... pass
dspBusRequestTest .............. pass
dspImplicitBusAccess ........... pass
dspTristarMemTest .............. pass
dsyDiagPM100Reg ................ pass
dsyPM011RegMem ................. pass
dsyLCSRamdacRegMem ............. pass
dsyMonoRamdacRegMem ............ UNTESTED
dsyVGARamdacRegMem ............. pass
dsyDiagPPRegMem ................ pass
dsyDiagRasRegMem ............... pass
dsyDiagRegSelect ............... pass
dsyDiagAllMem .................. pass
dsySeqYTModeV0Intens ........... pass
dsyDiagSeqXYModeV1 ............. pass
dsyRastModeV0Walk .............. pass
dsyRastModeV1Attrib ............ pass
dsyWaitClock ................... pass
dsySplashScreen ................ pass
cpuDiagAllInts ................. pass
nvLibrariansDiag ............... ***FAIL***
..error details:
ERRORID: 163 diagnostic test failure nvLibrariansDiag
Libs with crcc failures:
ExtConst

calLibrarianDefaultCk .......... pass
dspForcedBus ................... pass
acqProcThermistor .............. pass
twoGHz50OhmOvldConf ............ UNTESTED
ch1EdgeTrigDiag ................ pass
lineTrigDiag ................... pass
digHFStepConf .................. pass
fpDiagConf ..................... pass
optDiagPM110Reg ................ pass
optDiagFloppyCacheMem .......... pass
optDiagFloppyControllerIO ......0x5fffe80 (tRootTask): libError 358, lib EXTCAL, id=358, msg=more bytes requested than available

pass
optDiagFloppyDrive ............. pass
optRS232DuartIO ................ UNTESTED
optRS232DuartIntLoop ........... UNTESTED
optCentronCntrlReg ............. UNTESTED
optTv8bitRegDiag ............... UNTESTED
optTvShiftRegDiag .............. UNTESTED
optTvXparentCodes .............. UNTESTED
optTvDontCareCodes ............. UNTESTED
optTvEdgeAndLevel .............. UNTESTED
optTvSyncLevels ................ UNTESTED
Executing Smalltalk

ERRORID: 358 nv storage too small more bytes requested than available
hwAccountant probe routines
Probe for unexpected pending ints
Dsp Instr mem size
Dsp D2 mem size
Dsp D1 mem size
Dsy Vect0 mem size
Dsy Vect1 mem size
Dsy Wfm0 mem size
Dsy Wfm1 mem size
Dsy Text0 mem size
Dsy Text1 mem size
Acq number of digitizers
Acq mem size
Cpu timer interval uSec
Cpu Dram size
NvRam mem size
Limit to 1GS/sec presence
Opt Math Package presence
Opt Telecom Masks presence
Opt 3C presence
Opt 4C presence
Opt RS232/ Cent presence
Opt 1M presence
Opt 2M presence
Acq Intlv Cal Id presence
Opt TvTrig presence
Opt TvTrig index
Dsy color presence
Opt floppy drive presence
Opt hard drive presence
Acq number of user channels
0x5fffe80 (tRootTask): libError 358, lib EXTCAL, id=358, msg=more bytes requested than available

can't open input 'fd0:/startup.bat'

errno = 0x13 (S_errno_ENODEV)


Smalltalk/V Sun Version 1.12

Copyright (C) 1990 Object Technology International Inc.

ERRORID: 163 diagnostic test failure extended cal librarian reset

-----------------------------------------------
Date: 2-2-16 - 21:52:55
End log file

charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » February 3rd, 2016, 12:47 pm

who can help me with commands to enable options

and then how is it done?
here some info to start of...
The console port uses 9600 Baud, 8N1 with RTS/CTS flow control.

Interesting commands on my TDS7xx scopes:

libManagerWordAtPut(0x50006, 1) <- Enable option 1M
libManagerWordAtPut(0x50007, 1) <- Enable option 05
libManagerWordAtPut(0x50008, 1) <- Enable option 13
libManagerWordAtPut(0x50009, 1) <- Enable option 2F
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000a, 1) <- Enable option 1F
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000c, 1) <- Enable option 2C
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000d, 1) <- Enable option 3C
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000e, 1) <- Enable option 4C
libManagerWordAtPut(0x5000f, 1) <- Enable option 2M

i sended this in de bug mode on the console port to the scope. i got back

1 or 0
this is what i also found

VAR = hwAOption1M(UNIT "" VALUE 327686), where 327686 is decimal of 0x50006.
VAR = hwAOption2M(UNIT "" VALUE 327695)
... and so on for all other options.

I guess you can also enable the options via GPIB with the following well known commands:

PASSWORD PITBULL
WORDCONSTANT:ATPUT 327686,1

but the big question
What option could be enabled, without any extra board added or other things added later.

one option 1M can be enabled by removing an smd resistor but for that later more.
Last edited by Guest on March 11th, 2016, 1:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.

andy
Posts: 73
Joined: April 17th, 2009, 9:48 am

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by andy » February 5th, 2016, 10:45 am

Have you tried running the secure erase memory option from the utility menu?

cracked ide chip
Posts: 67
Joined: October 1st, 2015, 8:47 am

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by cracked ide chip » February 6th, 2016, 10:51 am

did you check power first? in the guide you'll see that's first. if cpu board doesn't have power (or has some damaged board connected to it, ie altering it's expected inputs or even voltage levels) it may cause error when the cpu board isn't at fault. very important to follow trouble shooting guide carefully

tha's a nice scope are you sure you dont want to have it "serviced" ?

charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » February 8th, 2016, 5:33 am

hi i try to get a copy of my NVram with tektool ... doesn t work, maybe wrong connection..

any options? or can someone send me his firmware.bin file of his TDS754D?

charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » March 4th, 2016, 1:29 am

my new chip arrived and i desoldered the old one tried to get and image from it but then already got errors in the programmer( top853 ) i also used it on my TDS544 when i did the recap job 2 years ago. no problems.. so i assume something with the chip. result: lots of errors while booting and broken pins on the old 1250y chip.

the firmware i have maybe corrupted so that s why i ask someone to help me with a hex/bin file..
but no respons yet :-(

charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » July 4th, 2016, 1:39 pm

...bump... i changed my NVRAM and still the problem... any idea's?
@andy i also did secure erase memory option. still problem.

charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » October 18th, 2017, 5:41 am

Ok i have got some news. I got a new (test) CPU/DRAM board for in my TDS754D ( same nummer on board 679-4349-00 ) from a TDS784D ( which has not diag errors) i swapped the board and the problem is still there also with the different board... so it is NOT the CPU board but it must be the ACQ board / Calibration. for me the 24C02 chips are very suspisious now. which stores the cals and communicate directly with the NVram .

kc7gr.roadie
Posts: 14
Joined: October 5th, 2017, 12:14 am
Country: United States

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by kc7gr.roadie » October 19th, 2017, 9:43 pm

One thing I feel compelled to mention: I ran into a similar symptom when I was troubleshooting my TDS784D. I had it assembled, but with the case off, on the bench and tried powering it up. Everything seemed OK, but the self-test showed FAIL on the processor.

It turns out I'd forgotten to reconnect the video trigger board (mine has the option). This leads me to believe that if you have an option enabled which requires additional hardware, and that hardware is not present in the 'scope, you may get a processor fail error. It also makes sense to me that if you have two options enabled which could conflict with each other, you could get a similar error.

You might want to go through which options your 'scope has enabled and see if any need hardware which you don't have installed. If so, disable the option in question and see if your error goes away.

Happy tweaking.

charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » October 25th, 2017, 11:30 am

hello what is the exact console errorlog output? i think i can help. pm me.

kc7gr.roadie
Posts: 14
Joined: October 5th, 2017, 12:14 am
Country: United States

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by kc7gr.roadie » October 26th, 2017, 10:18 pm

???

I think you misunderstood me. I was offering advice from my own perspective on one thing which I found caused a FAIL error on the processor where one did not exist before.

My apologies for any confusion.

charlyd
Posts: 49
Joined: February 14th, 2013, 2:41 pm

Re: TDS754D FAIL ++ Processor

Post by charlyd » February 12th, 2018, 3:47 am

hello an update on this one i swapped out the two 24c01 (I2C) chips ( got an error while reading out one 24C01 in my programmer) these extend the NVstorage and my problem is fixed .! yeaahh..
i just need to calibrate and thats it.

Post Reply

Return to “Other or Discontinued Oscilloscopes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests