Tektronix Technical Forums are maintained by community involvement. Feel free to post questions or respond to questions by other members. Should you require a time-sensitive answer, please contact your local Tektronix support center here.

6221 & 2182A - DC Sweep

6220, 6221 Current Sources
Post Reply
Cylider
Posts: 11
Joined: March 23rd, 2011, 9:24 pm
Country: Singapore

6221 & 2182A - DC Sweep

Post by Cylider » March 23rd, 2011, 9:47 pm

Dear All,

I am using DC Sweep program written by Keithley, KI6220.exe.
It seem that there isnt any function cater to save the measured data for Basic Operation.
And also I am not able to copy the table content by using ctrl+c

Is there any way i am able to capture the measured data in order to paste on EXCEL/Note?


Thank you
Attachments
DC Sweep.JPG
DC Sweep.JPG (99.18 KiB) Viewed 23464 times

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2847
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: 6221 & 2182A - DC Sweep

Post by Dale C » March 24th, 2011, 5:29 am

You are correct. This free "demo" software does not have the feature of saving the data in the Basic Operation mode.
That feature is only in the "Advanced" mode.

Cylider
Posts: 11
Joined: March 23rd, 2011, 9:24 pm
Country: Singapore

Re: 6221 & 2182A - DC Sweep

Post by Cylider » March 24th, 2011, 6:17 am

Thanks Dale!

Just wondering if the Advance Operation can be configured to performed DC Sweep?
And will there be any release by Keithley to have the free "demo" Basic operation to have save features?

Regards

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2847
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: 6221 & 2182A - DC Sweep

Post by Dale C » March 24th, 2011, 7:34 am

I do not see a way to sweep in the advanced mode. It was written/designed some of the advanced functions of the 6220 and 6221.
Even though sweep is the most popular it is not included.
I don't know if there will be any update to this software.

sdickert
Posts: 2
Joined: June 4th, 2012, 11:08 am
Country: United States

Re: 6221 & 2182A - DC Sweep

Post by sdickert » June 4th, 2012, 11:26 am

Hi everyone,

I can't get the free demo software to work (we don't have a windows computer), so I'm trying to write my own. I have a hard time figuring out how to get the 6220 and the 2182A to talk to each other. I just want to run a basic DC sweep and measure the voltage at each step. The manual for the 6220 basically list all the commands needed to setup & run a sweep:

SOUR:SWE:SPAC LIN
SOUR:CURR:STAR 1e-3
SOUR:CURR:STOP 1e-2
SOUR:CURR:STEP 1e-3
SOUR:DEL 1
SOUR:SWE:RANG BEST
SOUR:SWE:COUN 1
SOUR:SWE:CAB OFF
SOUR:SWE:ARM
INIT

My question is, what do I need to do to coordinate the instruments, so I can get a current value and the respective voltage reading along with it. At this point I have the 6220 and the 2182A connected via RS-232 and the trigger link cable.

Thanks

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2847
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: 6221 & 2182A - DC Sweep

Post by Dale C » June 5th, 2012, 6:38 am

First check the cabling and connections and verify the sweep can take place.
Connect the Model 2182A to the 6221 via a Null Modem Serial cable and trigger link cable.
Set Model 2182A to RS-232, BAUD = 19.2k, FLOW =NONE, TX TERM = CR.
Press CONFIG, let go , press SWP.
Select TYPE, press ENTER.
Select STAIR, press ENTER.
Enter in START value, press ENTER.
Enter in STOP value , press ENTER.
Enter in STEP value, press ENTER.
Enter in Delay value, press ENTER.
Press EXIT twice to get back to the main display.
Now just press SWP then TRIG.
This will sweep through the points.

If this works then use the code you have.
The code you have looks ok to me for a sweep and measure of 1mA to 10mA in 1mA steps. And the 2182A should take the voltage measurement at each step.

sdickert
Posts: 2
Joined: June 4th, 2012, 11:08 am
Country: United States

Re: 6221 & 2182A - DC Sweep

Post by sdickert » June 5th, 2012, 7:54 am

Thank you Dale,

Pressing the buttons does exactly what you said it would, as does the code (no surprise there, as I got it out of the manual). I think I wasn't clear on what my actual problem is. The 6220 does go through the steps and the 2182A does display voltage readings on the display. The problem that I have, though, is that after the sweep is done, the buffer of both the 6220 as well as the 2182A are empty. I tried checking the 6220 with:

TRAC:DATA?

but the read command timed out, then I tried checking the 2182A with these commands:

SYST:COMM:SERIal:SEND ":trac:data?"
SYST:COMM:SERIal:enter?

again, the readout command times out. There is communication between the instruments and between the computer and the instruments, they both react to the "*IDN?" query exactly as one would expect. Is there a command I'm missing to tell them to actually save the data in the buffer?

Thanks for your help

Dale C
Keithley Applications
Keithley Applications
Posts: 2847
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 6:22 am
Country: United States
Contact:

Re: 6221 & 2182A - DC Sweep

Post by Dale C » June 5th, 2012, 12:25 pm

If you have the 6221 connected to the 2182A through the NULL MODEM serial cable and using the delta mode, then the data should be in the Model 6221, not the Model 2182A.
All the data is transferred to the 6221.
Here is some code I tried this morning for another application that is very similar to yours.
Give it a try.
All these commands go to the Model 6221
*RST
:SOUR:DELT:HIGH 1e-3
:SOUR:DELT:DEL 10e-3
:UNIT OHMS
:SOUR:DELT:COUNT INF
:SOUR:DELT:CAB OFF
:SOUR:SWE:COUNT INF
CALCULATE2:FORM MEAN
:CALC2:STAT ON
:DISP:ENAB ON
:TRACE:POINTS 50
:SOUR:DELT:ARM
:SYSTEM:KEY 13
wait for some data
:TRACE:DATA?
Now read it.

Post Reply

Return to “Current Sources”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests